Mauve Cabinets and a Bottle of Red

My two passions–Food and books

Love Walked In by Marisa De Los Santos March 8, 2010

Filed under: Book — hmills96 @ 8:17 pm

I really should learn to write these reviews immediately after finishing the book. It seems like by the time I get around to doing them, I have become disenchanted by even the most enchanting novel. I fully intended to, this time, however, this weekend was not a good one. The only reason I even finished the book this weekend was the complete absorption into the story.

But really, any review of this book could never do it justice. Just, WOW. I don’t think I have ever read a book with this much genuine emotion. There was nothing lacking in this story, nothing overpowering. Just the right amount. If Goldilocks was looking for a book, this would be it.

The narration of the main character, Cornelia, is gorgeous. It sounds like something you would hear in a movie–the soft voice of a heroine telling her view on the world. Which was a perfect voice, considering how much Cornelia LOVES old movies. My Netflix list grew by at least ten by the end of the book.

There is one moment, and I won’t tell you what it is, that really just illustrates the genius of this book. It is the crux that everything relies upon, the base of the story. The whole first quarter or so of the book, you’re learning the characters, getting to know them, trying to find the connections. And then, here it is! That moment! Of course! Your whole body, every part of you sighs, “ooooooooooooook, that makes absolute sense, it could be no other way.” I LOVE those moments. I think those simple connections are what make truly great writers, those pieces of a story that bring everything together and set the stage to everything else. A lot of writers try, but De Los Santos succeeds in a way that is so subtle, so perfect. I can’t tell you. Just go read it. Please.

 

Leave a Reply

