Mauve Cabinets and a Bottle of Red

My two passions–Food and books

Pass the Pasketti! March 10, 2010

Today was a little more relaxed at work today–I think it had something to do with the GORGEOUS weather! We all have spring fever, that’s for sure! While it’s still dark when I get home, the daylight is lasting longer and longer, and because of that I don’t feel near has tired in the evenings. Which is great for you, because when I don’t feel like its bedtime, that means I’m much more likely to cook!

Tonight is a staple that we all grew up with. However, I never liked spaghetti growing up. It was always out of a jar, and while I loved raw tomatoes (hard not to, growing up on a Red Gold farm), I didn’t care much for them cooked or in sauces. Then I learned to make my own. I still use tomatoes from a can most of the time, but I get to choose rest of the ingredients, and I think the flavor is just so much more pronounced. This is a great meal to make when I don’t feel like doing anything elaborate, or when we are trying to stretch the budget at the end of a pay period. I almost always have the ingredients on hand, I tend to buy tomatoes whenever they are on sale, because I know I will use them up quickly.

I will tell you that this recipe varies some, there are no real measurements, just what I have on hand at the time. Also, I leave mine chunky, but you could easily pour it into a blender or food processor and make it smooth if you’d rather have it that way.

Comfort food at its finest!

Haley’s Spaghetti Sauce

1 Tbsp olive oil
2-3 cloves garlic, minced
1 can diced tomatoes (I used Fire Roasted tonight. Yum!)
Dash Worcestershire sauce
Dash Italian salad dressing (shaken first)
1 Tbsp Tomato Paste
Varied dried herbs (or fresh if you have them)
Salt & Pepper

In a small saucepan, heat oil over medium heat. Add garlic and cook for just a minute to soften.

Add tomatoes (I don’t drain them, you want the liquid) and the rest of the ingredients. Stir together and let simmer while your pasta cooks.

One can of tomatoes will make enough sauce for 2 people. If you need more, just add another can of tomatoes and adjust the rest of the ingredients to match! The herbs and seasonings are all up to you. I like thyme, rosemary, oregano, parsley. I had some fresh basil tonight so I threw that in too, but I don’t always. Sometimes I’ll add a few splashes of wine, if I have a bottle opened in the fridge. It just adds a completely new level of flavor.

 

Leave a Reply

