Mauve Cabinets and a Bottle of Red

My two passions–Food and books

browniesbrowniesbrowniesbrownies March 15, 2010

Filed under: Brownies,Chocolate — hmills96 @ 9:33 pm

I’ve been craving brownies ever since I saw this recipe. Seriously, my mind has been going “browniesbrowniesbrowniesbrowniesbrowniesbrownies…” You get the picture. And no, I’m not pregnant. Nice try.

Anyway, according to Brown Eyed Baker, regular scratch brownie recipes have a different fat ratio to boxed brownies. That is why boxed brownies always turn out sooooooooooooo much fudgier and delicious than home made. It just doesn’t make any sense. But this recipe apparently uses the fat ratio of boxed brownies, using homemade ingredients.

These were really good, and totally satisfied my brownie craving. I didn’t cook mine quite long enough. The recipe says to cook it from 30-35 minutes, or until a tooth pick comes out clean. Mine were still really soft in the middle–not like brownies should be, it was more like thick pudding. They just never really set up. Like I said, I think I just needed to cook them probably 10 minutes longer, it might be my oven. But…nothing wrong with eating them straight out of the pan with a spoon. Right? RIGHT???? (PS, this is why I’m starting this running program!)

Chewy Brownies

From Brown Eyed Baker

1/3 cup Dutch-processed cocoa
1 1/2 tsp instant coffee powder
1/2 cup plus 2 Tbsp boiling water
3 oz unsweetened chocolate, finely chopped (I didn’t have any, so I used 6 more Tbsp of cocoa and 2 more Tbsp of oil)
4 Tbsp butter melted
1/2 cup plus 2 Tbsp veggie oil (this is in addition to what I used as a substitution above)
2 large eggs
2 large egg yolks
2 tsp vanilla extract
2 1/2 cups sugar
1 3/4 cups all-purpose flour (I thought it was strange that there was SO much more sugar than flour. It seemed weird to me. Maybe that has something to do with the ratios but I wonder if this is why they didn’t set up all the way? Does anybody know?)
3/4 tsp salt
6 oz mint chocolate chips (or use whatever “extras” YOU prefer)

Adjust oven rack to lowest position. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Spray 9×13 inch baking pan with spray.

Whisk cocoa, coffee powder, and boiling water together in batter bowl. Add unsweetened chocolate and whisk until melted. Whisk in butter & oil (BEB said the mixture may look curdled, but mine didn’t really come together at all at this stage, it just made the chocolate look stringy.) Add eggs and vanilla and mix until smooth (don’t worry if, like mine, your batter was seperated in the last step. It will look delicious after this!) Add flour and salt and mix with rubber spatula until combined. Mix in “extras.”

Pour into pan and bake 35-40 minutes, or until tooth pick is clean. Let cool, or eat with spoon. Yum!

 

One Response to “browniesbrowniesbrowniesbrownies”

  1. I’m sorry your brownies were more pudding-like but it sounds like you still enjoyed them! I think I need to go dig one of mine out of the freezer for a midnight treat!


Leave a Reply

