Mauve Cabinets and a Bottle of Red

My two passions–Food and books

Bourbon Slush March 16, 2010

Filed under: alcohol,holiday — hmills96 @ 6:46 pm

I’ve never really celebrated St. Patty’s Day. I mean, aside from desperately trying to remember to wear green so I didn’t get pinched at school–but what awkward nerd doesn’t go through that stage? Just me? K.

But the green beer, the soda bread, all that–no, not really. Tomorrow night, J. and I are going out to a local beer bar, where a friend of mine’s dad is playing Irish music. The Fickle Peach takes their beer pretty seriously, I don’t know if there will be any green beer available, and even if there is, I can’t drink it. It will be wine for me! Either way, I’m pretty excited to actually get out and do something special!

To celebrate even further, I thought I’d share this recipe with ya’ll. It calls for bourbon, but you could certainly use Jameson! And add green food coloring for the holiday! 

Mine didn’t get slushy, for two reasons, I think:  1)  I only gave it about 4 hours to freeze. It probably needs to be made the night before. 2) I used Wild Turkey 101 which has a higher liquor content than most, so maybe I needed to add more water. Instead, I poured it over ice in my blender, which ended up doubling the recipe (like I minded that!). This will dilute the strength of the liquor (though not the flavor at all), so if you are doing this to get tipsy, you might add a little more.

This is the next day, after it had frozen completely. Looks pretty!

Bourbon Slush

From Food Alla Puttenesca

12 oz lemonade concentrate
6 oz orange juice concentrate
2 1/2 cups brewed tea, cooled
1 cup sugar
2 cups bourbon
6 cups water

Pour all ingredients into large pitcher or punch bowl. Freeze until slushy. Enjoy responsibly!

 

Leave a Reply

