Mauve Cabinets and a Bottle of Red

My two passions–Food and books

Baked Shrimp Curry March 21, 2010

Filed under: Asian,Family,Quick and Easy,Restaurant Review,shrimp — hmills96 @ 7:26 pm

Until I moved to Muncie, I had never had Thai food. Back in Bluffton, all we had was Chinese and Mexican. Boy was I missing out! The spices combine to create a completely different heat and flavor at the back of your throat. Mmmmm. We have a terrific Thai place here called Thai Smile. My mom and sister, K., now have to try every Thai restaurant that pops up in their area, trying desperately to find one as good. So far they are unsuccessful. Because of this, often they will come down to Muncie for a quick dinner–great for me, a free meal, and time with my family!

Mom and sister, E., are in Florida for Spring Break, so Dad and K swung down yesterday for some Thai. Panang curry….mmmmmmmmmm…..need I say more???

I still have the curry craving, and I had some shrimp in the freezer, so I thought I’d try out this recipe. It was excellent, easy and quick to put together. It wouldn’t be hard to vary this recipe either, I think next time I’m going to use coconut milk instead of cream, and add some peanut butter–it will taste a lot more like the curry I love from TS.

Also, you can adjust the heat by changing the amount of curry powder you add. This packed a pretty big punch, so if you just want a little heat, I’d take it down a notch. I halved this recipe, since it’s just Jordan and I, this will make about 4 servings.

One more change I’ll make next time–the recipe calls for already cooked shrimp, but that really didn’t make any sense to me. You have to cook it for 15 minutes! I thought it would be tough, and I was right. Next time I will definitely use raw and let it cook in the broth while it cooks.

Trying to get more creative with my photographs!

Baked Shrimp Curry

From Better Homes and Gardens Ultimate Casseroles

2 lbs fresh or frozen peeled and deveined cooked shrimp
1/4 cup butter
2 tbsp all-purpose flour
1 Tbsp curry powder (adjust to your heat preference. I wouldn’t add more than this the first time.)
1/2 tsp paprika
1/8 tsp ground nutmeg
2 cups cream or milk (or coconut milk!)
2 Tbsp dry sherry
2 tsp lemon juice
2 tsp grated fresh ginger
Splash Worcestershire sauce
4 cups hot cooked rice

Thaw shrimp, if frozen. Preheat oven to 400 F.

In Dutch oven, melt butter over medium heat. Add flour, curry powder, paprika, and nutmeg. Gradually stir in cream. Cook and stir until thickened and bubbly, 1 minute more. Stir in shrimp, sherry, lemon juice, and Worcestershire sauce.

Bake uncovered for 15 minutes. Serve over rice.

**Note–If you don’t have a Dutch oven, you can definitely do the stovetop cooking in a skillet, then transfer to a casserole dish before baking. That is actually how BHG said to do it. I used my Dutch Oven because it was one less pan I had to wash!

 

2 Responses to “Baked Shrimp Curry”

  1. Oh how I loved Thai Smile! I think I’ll have to try this later this week or next. Yum!

  2. Michelle Says:

    Have you ever used fish sauce? Used in many Thai dishes and would provide a more authentic taste than Worcestershire sauce. Readily available at Asian markets. Really tasty with distinctive flavor that cannot be replicated. Also, pick up some Thai Basil if you visit Asian market for garnish. Lovely.


Leave a Reply

