Mauve Cabinets and a Bottle of Red

My two passions–Food and books

Guacamole March 23, 2010

Filed under: dip,My Recipes — hmills96 @ 12:47 pm

I am a sucker for food holidays. World Nutella Day (February 5) is a popular one, or National Bavarian Cream Pie Day (November 27) is one of the more random ones I found. They are a fun way to plan a menu, or give me a reason to try a new recipe that I haven’t tried before. This will not be the last food holiday I celebrate on here!

Today is National Chip & Dip Day. Who doesn’t love some kind of dip? J. and I are HUGE munchers–we are always craving some sort of salty snack, so chips and dip are a staple in our house. One of his favorites is guacamole. I never really cared for it, until his friend made it at a party one night. I had only ever tasted it at Mexican restaurants, where it is thin and bland (in my opinion).  This was chunky, and full of flavor. It is simple to make, so whenever I find avocados on sale I make sure to pick some up! The following recipe is for one serving, but just add an avocado and clove of garlic per person, and adjust your salsa accordingly.

Is there anything better than eating Guac out of a pig?

Guacamole

1 avocado
1 tsp lime juice
1 clove garlic, minced fine
Spoonful of fresh salsa (don’t use canned, make your own or look in your deli section for little plastic containers of the good stuff. Trust me, it makes a big difference.)
Cilantro, chopped

With fork, mash avocado and lime juice in a bowl to suit your tastes (I like mine with some texture). Mix in garlic, salsa, and cilantro. Enjoy.

What is your favorite kind of dip?

 

Leave a Reply

