Mauve Cabinets and a Bottle of Red

My two passions–Food and books

Midnight in Ruby Bayou by Elizabeth Lowell April 3, 2010

Filed under: Book — hmills96 @ 6:48 pm

I don’t usually post my “palate cleansers” but I really enjoyed this one. I’m finding that I prefer Elizabeth Lowell to Nora Roberts *gasp*. Don’t tell Nora. She might be upset. I think I’ve just read so many of Nora’s books that they are all the same to me.

Midnight was the last in a series of books (I’ve read the first one, but skipped the middle without meaning to. Oops. Oh well, I just take what Bookins sends me!) revolving around the Donovan family–A wealthy, lovely family based in Seattle. It’s extremely suspenseful, and the characters are believable, even for a romance novel. No one is horribly over played. There’s a nice balance between drama and plausibility (or as much as you could expect to get in a soap opera kind of book). I really enjoyed Tiga, the “dotty” old aunt who turned out to actually make a whole lot of sense, if you pay attention.

Obviously, it’s an easy read. I only started this one last night, I’m already through it. But, I couldn’t put it down, all I’ve done today is read read read. Definitely a page turner.


 

Leave a Reply

