Mauve Cabinets and a Bottle of Red

My two passions–Food and books

Strawberry Ice Cream! April 10, 2010

Filed under: Berries,dessert,Ice Cream,Spring/Summer — hmills96 @ 5:18 pm

It’s drill weekend! For J., that means putting on a uniform and spending two days being a completely different person (and since this weekend was PT testing, it also means almost killing himself to make time on the 2 mile). For me, it means I have the house to myself for the weekend, which means relaxation. All I’ve done today is catch up on my YouTube videos. I’m a huge fan of ShayCarl and SXEPhil, but I’ve fallen waaaaaaaaay behind. Sorry to all those who follow me on Facebook, you kind of got them all at once today, but check out their channels, they are pretty entertaining. The other thing I did today was break out my Kitchenaid Ice Cream Attachment for the first time this season! J. bought some strawberries on sale the other day, and they were a little tart for eating plain, but perfect for putting in a super sweet milky concoction! We don’t keep a lot of ice cream in the house–I don’t eat a lot of it, so I don’t usually buy it. But homemade ice cream–now THAT’s a different story. It’s so easy to do, and sooooo much better than the stuff you buy at the store. I KNOW what I’m putting in it, so no preservatives!

A couple of notes about this recipe–This made a LOT of base, so if you are using the KA, you’ll have to make two batches. In fact, unless you eat a lot of ice cream at your house, I’d recommend halving the recipe. (That is the downside of no preservatives…you do have to eat this pretty quickly, it won’t keep as long.) The other thing about this recipe is that I would recommend pureeing at least some of the strawberries in a food processor after they mascerate. Otherwise, you are just going to have vanilla ice cream with strawberry chunks. It is still delicious, but not what I was looking for when I went to make strawberry ice cream.

Ben & Jerry’s Strawberry Ice Cream

From Recipezaar.com

1 pint fresh strawberries, hulled and chopped (or pureed)
1 Tbsp lemon juice
1/4 cup sugar
2 large eggs
3/4 cup sugar
1 cup milk
1 tsp vanilla
2 cups whipping cream

Combine strawberries, lemon juice, and 1/4 cup sugar in bowl. Cover and refrigerate for at least 1 hour to bring out the berry juices. If pureeing, do this after refrigeration.

In large mixing bowl, beat eggs until light and fluffy, about 2 minutes.

Gradually whisk in 3/4 cup sugar.

Add milk and vanilla.

Add strawberries and juice.

Add whipping cream.

Pour base in ice cream machine and follow manufacturer’s instructions. Remember, don’t fill too full or it WILL overflow. The ice cream base WILL expand as it freezes. The ice cream will be about soft serve consistency at this stage, you will need to freeze in your freezer to get hard serve ice cream.

**Note–Another option is to leave the strawberries out of the base until after the cream mixture has frozen in the machine for 10 minutes. This is actually how Kitchen Aid recommends you deal with mix-ins, but I didn’t think about it until later. The cream might freeze easier without the chunks. Don’t let it freeze too far before you add the berries, though.

 

Leave a Reply

