Mauve Cabinets and a Bottle of Red

My two passions–Food and books

Books Make Me Happy April 11, 2010

Filed under: Book — hmills96 @ 1:38 pm

I don’t know if you’ve figured this out yet–Books make me happy. Not just the reading of them either. The finding of them, the sorting of them, the organization of them…

My To Read list is currently 1199 books long. No, I’m not joking. It’s more of a database than a list, even. Ask J.–I spend almost as much time on the database than I do reading! I know what libraries have the books on the list, whether I have the book in my possession. If I read a book, it goes on a separate table, and gets rated from Good, Ok, or Bad. There’s even a list of Did Not Finish books. The books in my personal library are alphabetized by author, and separated out by what I’ve read and what I haven’t. J. knows the rules–If, on the rare occasion he does take a book off the shelf to read it, when he’s finished he must put it back on the right shelf! I’m not usually OCD, but when it comes to my books, I’m very anal.

I wanted to share with you where I get my books. Because I have such a long list, I don’t just go to the store and browse the shelves.  There has to be a method to my madness! As I’ve said before, I have my lists separated out by which library they are in.

But, the most popular place I get my books is Bookins.com. This is a book trading website where I can send people my old books, and they send me books I want. It’s all done automatically, which is nice. No thinking for me! All I have to do is enter both the books I own, and the books I want to read and they take care of the rest. I only pay shipping when I receive a book. It is all based on a point system, the more popular a book, the more points it is worth. The amount of points I have earned determines when and what book i will receive next. It makes it soooooo much easier on this girl who has little time to go to the library (which involves taking a shopping list of 1199 books!).  I also have a bad habit of wracking up the late charges on library books…oops…

Then there are book sales. I LOVE book sales. I am fortunate to live in a town where the library system holds a book sale every month or so. Books are 50 cents per pound (which is about 1-2 books, depending) on size).  I got 8 books today for $4! That’s great, considering to buy those at a store, each one would cost me $14.95. Even Bookin’s shipping is about $4 a piece, and I got 8 for that! I was pretty excited. Plus, it serves a great cause, I’m pretty sure the donations get fed back into the library.

Here are the titles I got today:

Trophy House by Anne Bernays

Dry by Augusten Burroughs

Fortune’s Rocks by Anita Shreve

Peace by Richard Bausch

Paradise by Toni Morrison (which unfortunately reeks of cigarettes, and I didn’t realize it until I got it home. Downside of used books.)

Me talk pretty one day by David Sedaris

Love in the Time of Cholera by Gabriel Garcia Marquez

The Golden Age by Gore Vidal

and bonus! This came in the mail today from Bookins:

Macbeth by Shakespeare

So you guys pick–What should I read next?

And tell me, where do you get YOUR books?

 

Leave a Reply

