Mauve Cabinets and a Bottle of Red

My two passions–Food and books

Roasted Pork Chops with Mustard Sauce April 16, 2010

Filed under: My Recipes,Pork — hmills96 @ 6:53 pm

It has been a very bittersweet week for me. Monday night, I had a long conversation with my boss, and we decided it was best if I went my separate ways. We both felt it was just time, after 3 years, I just wasn’t fitting there anymore. It was difficult to leave–I have made so many friends there, I love my technicians, “my guys” as I am, even still, referring to them. I’ve learned so much over the past 3 years. I started there as a college sophomore, looking for some extra cash, working after hours doing data entry and answering phones in the evening. When I graduated college, there was a full-time position waiting for me. However, I never really got past that little college girl mentality, and thus, it’s time for me to spread my wings and find my true potential.

Unfortunately, for the time being, I am unemployed. I’ve filled out no less than 13 applications online today, and I have 3 resumes ready to send in the mail (unfortunately I ran out of computer ink and couldn’t print the cover letters).

Our cupboards are pretty bare, I need to go grocery shopping desperately. I have to learn to bargain shop *shudders*. Food is the one thing I’ve never limited myself on, but I will have to stick to more simple ingredients for at least the time being. With that mentality, I set out to make a gourmet meal from the limited products in my pantry. I am pretty impressed with what I came up with. I did serve these with canned baked beans and frozen green beans, when I normally would have fresh sautéed mushrooms or the like, but the meal was still amazingly delicious, and used everything I usually have on hand (plus 2 frozen pork chops).

Roasted Pork Chops with Mustard Sauce

Original Recipe

Marinade:

1 cup Honey mustard dressing
2 Tbsp Worcestershire sauce
1 cup brewed iced tea
1/2 cup sherry
1/4 cup sun-dried Tomato Spice Mix
Salt & Pepper

Sauce:

1/2-1 cup cream
2 Tbsp Dijon mustard
1 Tbsp sherry
1/2 Tbsp flour
Parsley flakes
Nutmeg
Salt & Pepper

2 Pork chops

In Ziploc bag, mix together all marinade ingredients. Add pork chops and shake to coat. Marinade in fridge for 1-2 hours.

Preheat oven to 350.

Heat oil in large oven safe skillet over medium high heat. Add porkchops, brown on both sides. About 2-3 minutes each side.

Transfer to oven. Cook for 10 minutes. Flip chops and add a little marinade. Cook 10 more minutes. Remove from pan and let rest in foil while you make the sauce.

In the same pan, add flour to pan drippings to make roux. Add cream, mustard and sherry, heat to simmer, stirring constantly. Add spices and cook for 3-5 minutes, or until thickened. Should still be pourable, if not, add more cream. Serve on top of chops.

 

Leave a Reply

