Mauve Cabinets and a Bottle of Red

My two passions–Food and books

Macbeth by Shakespeare April 18, 2010

Filed under: Book — hmills96 @ 7:58 am

I know I should read more classics. I have a ton of them on my list but by the luck of the draw, they don’t often get sent to me, and when they do, they usually sit on my shelf for a while before I read them. Modern fiction is just so much more fun to read! Maybe I should work them into the rotation somehow. Alternate between modern and classic. It’s a thought.

I expected to struggle with Shakespeare. Such non-traditional methods of prose often don’t mesh well will my method of reading and I find myself getting stuck on the words. However, I discovered that if I flew through it, I could grasp the meaning of the players script without getting to hung up on the backwards language that Shakespeare uses. And I loved the Weird Sisters, I read their parts out loud (I HATE reading out loud)–their chants were so musical and poetic and FUN! I never knew that “Double, double toil and trouble, fire burn and cauldron bubble,” was from Macbeth.

Overall, while it wasn’t my favorite book, I enjoyed it. It definitely feels good to say, “I read Shakespeare!” and to mark another classic off my list. I’ll try to read more for you guys…I have had Tale of Two Cities on my shelf for a LOOOOONG time, but I so loathed Great Expectations that I am dreading picking up Dickens again. I also have Dante’s Inferno, which I was worried about because of the epic poem format, but maybe if I use the same strategy I used for Shakespeare, I might be ok.

Alright, I’m rambling, time to go.

 

Leave a Reply

