Mauve Cabinets and a Bottle of Red

My two passions–Food and books

Migraine Noodles April 21, 2010

Filed under: comfort food,My Recipes,Quick and Easy,Side Dish — hmills96 @ 7:32 pm

I don’t know if it’s because its allergy season, or the stress from the last couple of weeks, but my migraines are back full force. They are kicking my butt. Sunday, I spent all day in bed, sleeping and watching movies all day, hardly able to keep my eyes open. Today was much of the same. I don’t tend to eat much on these kinds of days, but I knew that I had to put something in my stomach, otherwise it would just make the nausea worse. Chicken noodle soup is a good thing to eat in this situation, but we didn’t have any. Instead, I made up my own concoction to soothe my woozy stomach. This is definitely far from a gourmet meal but it was very comforting, and I feel so much better now that I’ve eaten. And, the best part is, I have a bowl of leftovers for lunch tomorrow!

Migraine Noodles

Original Recipe

2 cups egg noodles
1 can cream of chicken soup
Splash of cream
Splash of Worcestershire sauce
1-2 Tbsp sun-dried tomato seasoning (or your favorite blend)
Salt & Pepper

Cook egg noodles in boiling water. Drain, but reserve a ladleful of pasta water. Pour noodles back into pot.

Add soup and stir to coat. Add just enough pasta water to get the consistency you like. Add a little cream, and the ingredients to taste.

**Note–You could totally do this with Cream of Mushroom or Broccoli or even that Fiesta Nacho soup. Cream of chicken is just my favorite casserole flavor. Also, this would make a great side dish, reminiscent of Pasta Roni or something like that.

4/22/10–Update–

Today for lunch I added a little bit of Dijon mustard, a slice of cheese, and some Old Bay seasoning before nuking it in the microwave. It was even better than last night! Still far from a fancy meal but definitely delicious!

 

One Response to “Migraine Noodles”

  1. Ashley Abbey Says:

    Hey there, I also get migraines, I know how you feel. I got diagnosed a couple of years ago. I also get the nausiating kind. I usually keep a bag of frozen fruit, like peaches or something pithy like that in the freezer.. the coldness really hits those temples or between the eyes nicely and helps to ease the pain. I’m definitely going to try the soup.. thanks for all the recipes with not a ton of ingredients! See ya soon 🙂


Leave a Reply

