Mauve Cabinets and a Bottle of Red

My two passions–Food and books

The Time Traveler’s Wife by Audrey Niffenegger April 25, 2010

Filed under: Book — hmills96 @ 4:56 pm

I had tried (for the second time actually) to read Middlesex. I had started it back in high school, but couldn’t get through it. I thought at that point maybe the subject of the book was just to controversial for me at that stage in my life and I wasn’t read for it. It showed up last week from Bookins, and I picked it up the other day. I didn’t even make it through the first 50 pages (which is why it’s not getting its own review). While my mind is much more open to the complicated themes in the book, it does not save the uninteresting writing. If a book can’t hold my attention for the first chapter, it’s a great big no thank you.

I was not in a great mood that evening, so after the big Middlesex fail, I decided to go with something a little lighter. Or so I thought. The writing style, yes. Plot, no.

This book was absolutely captivating. I’m usually not one for science fiction, and at first, the time traveling was a little hard to believe at first. But once I got used to it, I enjoyed following along to see where Henry would land next. I was antsy with Clare, worrying about him, hoping he wouldn’t get hurt. Sometimes it was a little confusing, when the two Henrys (Henries?) were in the same time. There was a lot of hes and mes and Is and you just have a hard time figuring out which Henry you’re looking at.

One detail that stuck out into my mind–he gets stuck in Muncie! That detail made me laugh. I would LOVE to know what made the author choose my town out of all the towns in Indiana (or the USA, for that matter). If anyone knows, I would love to hear it!

Lastly, the ending is BEAUTIFUL. I won’t tell you anything about it, only that it was absolutely lovely.

 

One Response to “The Time Traveler’s Wife by Audrey Niffenegger”

  1. Elizabeth Says:

    I absolutely love that book! I’ve actually read it several times. I love the relationship between Clare and Henry, its under such abnormal strain, but it stays normal. Glad you enjoyed it!


Leave a Reply

