Mauve Cabinets and a Bottle of Red

My two passions–Food and books

Tom Rim (Caramel Shrimp) April 27, 2010

Filed under: Asian,shrimp — hmills96 @ 7:24 pm

I had to get up this morning and go into town to pick up a prescription. When I got home, I decided to bring my computer back into my office and set it up at my desk, instead of continuing the cycle of hanging around in bed all day. Every day I mean to get up and do laundry, dishes, etc. and every day I think, “One more episode of No Reservations, then I’ll get up.” Next thing I know it’s 6 pm. I’ve gotten a few things done, but not NEAR what I should be doing for being home all day every day.

If I keep my computer in here, and make myself get up in the mornings, I’ll make myself be productive. I always have some kind of project going on, and I need to get this house in shape. I will NOT be a worthless piece of crap anymore.

Part of that promise is that I am going to try to cook at least 4 days a week. I am home all day, there is no reason I can’t cook a meal. I say 4 days because some of it depends on J’s random work schedule. It’s Tuesday, and I’ve already cooked two great, filling meals. Ok, so Macaroni and Cheese isn’t the HEALTHIEST thing ever, but it’s better than buying McDonald’s, right?

Tonight’s dinner was really yummy, but VERY spicy. This one was a little out of my comfort zone. I don’t make a lot of Asian dishes–I don’t know why I’m so intimidated by them. *shrugs* I’m with that about ethnic cuisines. I have it in my head that I don’t have the gene pool to create such wonders. I’ll never know if I don’t try right? I’ll never be a sushi master, but I can do a stir fry now and then. You may see more of these around here as I get more creative.

This dish packs a ton of heat!

Tom Rim

Adapted from Closet Cooking

2 Tbsp sugar (I used brown because I’m out of white, but it made judging the caramelization process difficult.)
1/4 cup water
1/4 cup water
1 Tbsp oil
2 cloves garlic, minced
1 tsp ginger, minced
1 Habanero, minced
1 lb shrimp, peeled & deveined
Pepper to taste
1 tsp sesame oil

Heat sugar and 1/4 cup water in pan on medium high heat until caramelized and turns dark brown (see why this would be hard with brown sugar?).

Add water and heat until caramel dissolves. Remove from heat and set aside.

Heat oil in a pan. Add garlic, ginger, and Habanero. Saute for 3-5 minutes, until garlic is soft.

Add shrimp, 2 Tbsp of sauce, and pepper. Cook until shrimp is pink all over, only about 2 minutes.

Remove from heat and stir in sesame oil.

Serve over rice.

 

Leave a Reply

