Mauve Cabinets and a Bottle of Red

My two passions–Food and books

Roasted Mushrooms with Herbs April 30, 2010

Filed under: Family,Herbs,Mushrooms,Side Dish,Vegetarian — hmills96 @ 4:53 pm

Last summer, J and I went to visit my cousin in North Carolina. K, who had grown up in a typical, meat-centric Midwestern family, married a doctor, started running marathons, and became vegetarian! I could hardly believe it! I mean, this is the girl who used to stand in the kitchen with me when the turkey came out of the oven at Thanksgiving, so we could get the very first pieces of meat, straight off the bird!

Ever since then, I’ve been sending her veggie recipes as I come across them. I’ve even started a section in my recipe binder for meatless dishes to try. However, I am too much of a meathead. I crave protein, and I don’t often reach for that section.

But, when I went to visit my sister last week, she told me she had become a vegetarian too. This time I was glad. She has some health issues, and her doctor has been telling her for a while cutting out animal protein would help considerably. She’s like me though, and was very stubborn about giving up her meat. Then she read Skinny Bitch. The book talks about how humans aren’t built to digest other animals and how the kidneys can’t process them. A light went on for her and she finally understood why her doctor wanted her to go vegetarian. I read part of the book while I was there. It was pretty hard-hitting, but I’m not giving up my meat anytime soon.

However, I’m going to start including more meatless recipes in my diet. K. is still in school and has her meals prepared for her every day, but when she gets out, it will be helpful to have some recipes she knows are edible. You can’t live on salad and french fries every day (which is basically what she’s doing now). Blech.

This one makes a fantastic side dish–I served it with last night’s chicken. It can also be increased to make a main dish for a vegetarian.

Roasted Mushrooms with Herbs
Adapted from the Kitchn

3/4 lb bella mushrooms, washed and sliced
1/4 lb shiitake mushrooms, washed and sliced
salt and pepper
1/4 cup olive oil
1/2 cup fresh herbs (I used chives, thyme, marjoram and parsley), minced
2 Tbsp Sour Cream
1/4 cup white wine

Preheat oven to 375. Line baking sheet with parchment.

Toss mushrooms in large bowl with salt, pepper, and olive oil.

Roast for 20 minutes. Add herbs and wine. Return to oven to 10 more minutes until dark and slightly shrunken.

Mix in sour cream. Reseason if necessary.

 

2 Responses to “Roasted Mushrooms with Herbs”

  1. Kristen Says:

    YUM! I’m just going to go ahead and toss this with a package of fresh linguine and not share with anyone.

    Decided I’m more a carbivore than vegetarian or meateater, ha ha ha.

    Thanks for the great ideas!

  2. Ellen Says:

    Hello-Brennan has become pretty much a vegetarian too. He does eat fish and every once in a while a little chicken. He is finishing finals this week and is headed home for the summer. So, I will be happy with any help I can get on ideas to feed him. The good part is he loves everything else. I am definitely going to try this one. I have enjoyed your recipes and it’s been fun hearing news about the family.

    Keep up the great ideas. I’m sure there are many of us who are grateful!


Leave a Reply

