Mauve Cabinets and a Bottle of Red

My two passions–Food and books

Root Beer Float Ice Cream May 3, 2010

Filed under: dessert,Ice Cream,Spring/Summer — hmills96 @ 9:48 pm
Tags:

If you follow me on Twitter or Facebook, you already know that I cannot have caffeine. I may have mentioned on here before that I suffer from horrible migraines, and last year it was suggested to me that caffeine may be one of my triggers. Giving it up was not easy, but definitely worth it! I miss coffee, mostly–and to those of you out there who are saying right now, “Just drink decaf!” Let me tell you, it’s just not the same. I have been caffeine free since June! Almost a year, that’s pretty amazing, considering I was drinking at least a coffee a day, plus a Diet Coke or two.

Shortly after, I saw a neurologist, who put me on Topomax. This has been my miracle drug. It’s a preventative medicine that I take to lessen the quantity and ferocity of the migraines. The downside is that it makes carbonated beverages taste like I’m licking a suede jacket. I’m not even kidding. It’s awful. Imagine a world without beer, or champagne, or God forbid, Diet Coke! That has probably been worse than giving up caffeine–in fact, it probably helped me give it up.

You’d think after 11 months of no pop, I wouldn’t crave it anymore, but I want it more now than I ever did before. I wasn’t a huge soda drinker–I would drink it with dinner or liquor, but I didn’t guzzle it all day long. But, now, NOW! If I could drink it, I would become my mother (in this regard anyway), and ALWAYS have to have a 32 oz Diet Coke with lots of ice.

Why am I telling you this sob story? Because I found a miracle recipe. For normal people, this recipe is good, probably delicious. For me, it was a revelation! This is a way I can have my pop! No caffeine, no carbonation. Now, if only I could find Diet Coke syrup! THAT would be a miracle straight from heaven. Are you listening, God?

Just for the record, No, I did not eat all of this!

Root Beer Float Ice Cream

Adapted from Joelen’s Culinary Adventures

2 large eggs
3/4 cup sugar
2 cups heavy whipping cream
1 cup milk
1 tsp vanilla extract
3 Tbsp A&W Root Beer dessert syrup

Whisk eggs until light and fluffy.

Whisk in sugar, 1/4 cup at a time, until completely blended.

Mix in cream, milk, and flavorings.

Pour into ice cream machine and follow manufacturer’s instructions.

**Note–Next time, I will use 2 cups milk and 1 cup cream. This was a little thick for me–perfect ice cream consistency, but I was hoping it would be a little icier, since it IS Root Beer Float ice cream. Also, the original recipe called for 1 Tbsp root beer extract instead of the dessert syrup, but my grocery did not have it. If you can find RB extract, I would use that instead, I think the flavor would probably be a lot more pronounced.

 

Leave a Reply

