Mauve Cabinets and a Bottle of Red

My two passions–Food and books

The Breadgivers by Anzia Yezierska May 10, 2010

Filed under: Book — hmills96 @ 7:12 am

It’s been awhile since I’ve done a book post. I was trying to read Dante’s Inferno…unfortunately, I couldn’t make it through it. When at a week and a half in I was only halfway through and had NO idea what was going on, I decided to let it go. Oh well. Then I picked up Nora Roberts’ Considering Kate, which was cute–but not outstanding enough to get a full post. Just something to give my mind a break after such a struggle with Dante.

Breadgivers was very good. It reminded me a lot of Fiddler on the Roof–the poverty, the time period, the values, the big family, etc. It had a lot of typical old school Jewish themes.

It’s not an easy book to read, emotionally, however. I hated the father, and you’ll understand why, when you read it. It definitely makes me glad I grew up in a house where I had free will. Still, it’s a necessary read, and a good one.

 

Leave a Reply

