Mauve Cabinets and a Bottle of Red

My two passions–Food and books

Chicken and Noodles May 11, 2010

Its difficult, when I am here by myself for long periods of time, not to be tempted to just pick up fast food or eat chips and other crap for dinner. Why cook a big fancy meal when it’s just me? But, I’m trying to save money, so going out for dinner is not a good choice. And junk food only goes so far before I’m really hungry. Sometimes, it’s worth it to make an actual meal. When I do, I try to make it something that will last for more than one meal. That way, tomorrow I can have something to eat as well, so I don’t reach for the Doritos.

I wanted some comfort food tonight. Something hearty and warm, as it’s been rainy and cold around here lately. Chicken and noodles seemed just the thing! This recipe is “semi-homemade.” It does use some canned ingredients, but it definitely tastes like the real thing! Much better than if you had bought the whole thing pre-made. It only took me about 30 minutes from start to finish to make!

Chicken and Noodles

Adapted from Allrecipes.com

2 chicken breasts, cooked and chopped
2 cans cream of chicken soup
3 cups chicken broth
1 cup water
Dash Worcestershire sauce
1 tsp onion powder
1 Tbsp favorite spice mix (I used my sun-dried mix)
Fresh ground pepper to taste
1 lb egg noodles, frozen or dried (I actually used broken lasagna noodles and it worked pretty well)

In large pot, mix together all ingredients (except noodles). Bring to a boil. Add noodles. Cook for 20-30 minutes, until noodles are cooked (will vary depending on what kind you use).

Serve over mashed potatoes or with crusty bread.

 

Leave a Reply

