Mauve Cabinets and a Bottle of Red

My two passions–Food and books

Peace by Richard Bausch May 14, 2010

Filed under: Book — hmills96 @ 6:27 pm
Tags: , , , ,

How do I always manage to read a depressing book about soldiers while my soldier is away for a long period of time? I don’t know but I don’t like it. It has a serious effect on how I perceive the book, I think.

The writing in this one was exceptional. It was simple, but very well written. It didn’t need to be complicated though–it was written about a small band of young American soldiers during WWII. Not exactly complex characters. The timing is short–the whole story takes place over only a few days. We aren’t talking about the entire war effort here. Not even a major battle. Just a couple of guys trying to figure out where the hell they are and how to get out of it.

It’s a difficult book. There’s no getting around it. There is no happiness here. I read this in a little more than a day, and now I need to go watch something silly to shake off the sadness I feel. Hopefully, my soldier will call me tonight. Thankfully, I know he’s in only in a controlled drill setting in the States, not trudging through sleet on an Italian mountain trying to avoid German snipers.

**On a somewhat comical note, the narrating voice in my head was Anthony Bourdain from No Reservations. I think I need to take a break from the Instant Netflix, don’t you?

 

Leave a Reply

