Mauve Cabinets and a Bottle of Red

My two passions–Food and books

Nanny Smith’s BBQ Sauce May 31, 2010

Filed under: Family,sauce — hmills96 @ 1:53 pm
Tags: ,

I have only a few very specific memories of my great-grandmother. She passed away when I was in elementary school. I remember going to visit her in Kentucky, especially in the last few years of her life. I loved going there, we were each other’s “special person”.

I don’t know if she ever made her BBQ chicken for me, but I grew up eating it–made by my Nana and Mom. It was one of my favorites, especially when the sauce would burn around the edges. That caramelized goo is the best part!

This is the reason I prefer southern style BBQ sauce to our thicker Midwestern version. It’s thin and tart. There’s no hiding the vinegar base in this. It’s wonderful!

I like to keep a jar of it in my fridge, so I double this recipe when I make it. Also, I added the Worcestershire sauce, that wasn’t in Nanny’s original recipe. She calls for regular sugar, but I use brown.

Nanny Smith’s BBQ Sauce

1 cup cider vinegar
1/3 cup sugar
1 tsp mustard
1 Tbsp butter
1/2 cup ketchup
1 Tbsp Worcestershire sauce

1 tsp salt
1/8 tsp pepper

In a small saucepan, mix together all ingredients. Bring to a boil, then turn off heat and let sit until cool. Store in jar in fridge.

 

Leave a Reply

