Mauve Cabinets and a Bottle of Red

My two passions–Food and books

The Carrie Diaries by Candace Bushnell June 1, 2010

Filed under: Book — hmills96 @ 1:37 pm

I was never a die-hard SATC fan. It was a fun show to watch every now and then, if I happened to catch it after Will and Grace, but it wasn’t something I sought out. I don’t know the ins and outs of the characters–who slept with who and what Carrie wore on what episode. In fact, I don’t really like what she wears most of the time.

Still, you can’t be a woman in this decade without knowing the bare minimum. I saw the first movie, I know who Mr. Big is. I’m probably not going to spend the mega bucks to see SATC2 in theater, but I will rent it. So when I was stuck on my mom’s couch last week with nothing to read, she suggested Bushnell’s prequel.

It was not what I was expecting. High school Carrie is BARELY recognizable to the SJP version. Now, I haven’t read the original SATC book, so maybe this Carrie rings true to Bushnell’s Carrie. And sure, we change a LOT from high school to 30, but I just couldn’t compare the two.

Also, the word “diary” is in the title! I would have liked to see this in journal format. Instead Carrie hates journaling! Pick a different title.

I know–superficial–but this is a pretty superficial book. It’s cute, I guess, and kept me entertained enough while I was  an invalid, but that’s really it. Don’t expect a lot of depth…or even any Manolo Blahniks.

 

Leave a Reply

