Mauve Cabinets and a Bottle of Red

My two passions–Food and books

Blueberry Sunrise Muffins June 6, 2010

Filed under: Berries,Breakfast,Family,Freezer Meals,Muffins — hmills96 @ 12:45 pm
Tags: , , ,

Can you believe my baby sister graduated from high school last week?  Ugh. I feel so old!

I’ve spent a lot of time in my hometown lately, watching those that I think of as 10-year-old midgets throw their last pitches, sing their last solos, and finally, don their caps and gowns and walk across the stage at BHS. Congratulations Class of 2010! I laughed with one of my former classmates, a brother of Em’s friend, when we realized our 5th year reunion is not far away. Oh dear…

You know what else makes me feel old? Babies. I have found out every day for the last 4 out of 5 days that someone else is pregnant. No one yet today, but it’s still early. One of my college friends is even having twins! It’s crazy! I made a list, just for spite yesterday. Off the top of my head, I could think of 9 people who have recently had good news, and several more who have just given birth! It makes me feel old to think we are at that stage in our lives. Trust me, there are no plans for little Haley’s anytime soon…much to my family’s dismay! That doesn’t mean I don’t jump up and down when I find out another of my friends is expecting though! There’s been a lot of squealing going on over here!

One good thing that came out of feeling old is 2 lbs of blueberries leftover from Em’s graduation party. She had the first party of the class, which means it’s usually the biggest. Still, we had waaaaaaaay more food than we needed. Which, from my perspective is not a bad thing, because I got to take home leftovers! The 2 lbs of berries I took was only half of what was left. Luckily, they freeze well! You may see blueberry recipes for a while. I know, so disappointing right? Ha!

Blueberry Sunrise Muffins

Adapted from Dine and Dish

1 1/2 cups flour
1 Tbsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
1/4 cup sugar
4 Tbsp butter, melted and cooled
1 large egg, beaten
/4 cup plus 2 Tbsp milk
1 Tbsp fresh orange zest
Juice of 1/2 Orange
1 cup fresh blueberries

Melt butter, let cool slightly.

Preheat oven to 400. Spray Muffin cups with Pam.

In batter bowl, mix flour, baking powder, salt, sugar and zest.

In separate bowl, whisk together butter, egg, milk, and juice.

Pour wet over dry ingredients and stir just until mixed. Will be lumpy. Stir in blueberries.

Pour into muffin cups. Bake about 18-24 minutes, until golden.

Makes 8-10.

 

Leave a Reply

