Mauve Cabinets and a Bottle of Red

My two passions–Food and books

Tornado Chili June 7, 2010

Filed under: Beef,Fall/Winter,Freezer Meals,My Recipes,soup — hmills96 @ 9:07 am
Tags: , ,

There was a few minutes last night when I thought I wouldn’t be around today to write this post. I’m being overdramatic of course, as it wasn’t THAT bad, but it got pretty intense around here for a while last night. More on that in a minute.

I have been craving chili all week. I recently discovered a new food show called Food Mob. Through the powers of the internet, the host, Niall Harbison, teaches us how to cook simple dishes well. Most are things I’ve already cooked, but it’s always good to watch a professional go through the motions, so I can pick up on techniques and ideas. I watched this episode and knew I had to make chili this week. Luckily, last night was a little cooler, so it was a great night for it.

If you know me or follow me on Twitter or FB, you know I’m a weather buff. Especially this time of year when the season is ripe with twisters. I usually have at least one radar up, and last night was no exception. There was nothing in our area though, not one cloud. My favorite chaser was taking the day off, so instead of living vicariously through him, I was watching Fried Green Tomatoes.

Just a little after 7, sirens started blaring. And they didn’t stop. I flipped to the radar, which minutes ago had shown nothing. Now there was a small blob of red a few miles north of me. I ran outside to look at the sky–nothing at first, then in seconds it turned black and started pouring and the winds picked up. I ran in, grabbed my cat, a blanket and headed for the little closet under the stairs. Poor Smokey, she was not at all appreciative of the maternal instincts that kicked in.

Anyway, the sirens stopped, we were fine. It turns out that a funnel had been spotted about two miles SE of our house, then again farther down, not far from a friend’s. It finally touched down about 15 miles away, but they only rated it a F0. Only a few power lines and trees were damaged thankfully. It was just crazy, there was no warning. We weren’t supposed to get any storms last night, and there was nothing on the radar when I checked literally 5 minutes before the alarms!

Back to the chili–this recipe is based loosely around my Nana’s, but I’ve changed it so much that I’m claiming it. It also has a few tricks from Niall’s show thrown in. Even if you aren’t a huge cook, go watch his show. He has all kinds of fun things to show you, like quick cooling beer or how to make rice without drying it out.

I like a LOT of sour cream on my chili.

Tornado Chili

Original Recipe

2 cloves garlic, minced
1 large onion, chopped (or 2 small ones)
1 lb ground beef
1 can tomatoes with green chiles
1 can tomatoes
1 can tomato sauce
2 cans kidney or pinto beans, drained
1 can beef broth or beer (I would prefer the beer, but I was out.)
2 Tbsp chili powder
Hot sauce
Worcestershire Sauce

In large pot or Dutch Oven, heat a Tbsp of oil over medium heat. Add onions and garlic. Cook 1 minute, until soft.

Add beef. Cook until almost browned. Add chili powder, salt & pepper. Finish browning.

Add rest of ingredients. Simmer at least 30 minutes.

**Note–The longer you simmer, the thicker it will be.

Yummy!

 

Leave a Reply

