Mauve Cabinets and a Bottle of Red

My two passions–Food and books

Spice Roasted Chicken Thighs June 8, 2010

Filed under: Chicken,Herbs,Quick and Easy,wine — hmills96 @ 8:22 pm
Tags: , ,

Today was a pretty productive day! I started a Facebook page for the blog. Go here and Like us! It’s a great way to stay connected with other fans of the blog, share thoughts on recipes, or tell me what to cook next!

After that, I went to the grocery store. I have become one of THOSE people. You know, the woman in line who has a bazillion coupons. I saved $30 bucks today though so it was worth it! The road to Meijer was closed for construction, so I went to Marsh instead. It’s been awhile since I’ve been there, but I probably will start going back. It’s not much further than my normal store, and the service and products are so much better!

Unfortunately, there is one exception to that rule. I was so excited when I walked by the seafood counter–they had mussels! I’ve been wanting to try them for a while, but they aren’t common around here. They were pretty inexpensive, so I grabbed a pound. However, when I got them home and got ready to cook them tonight, they were all dead. For those of you who don’t know–you buy shellfish alive. The shells should be tightly closed, or if one is open, it should snap shut when tapped. These were all open and did not close. They also smelled extremely fishy, which is not a good sign. I had to throw them out.

I was disappointed. Now what was I going to cook for dinner? I knew I wanted to test an asparagus salad recipe (which will be posted tomorrow), but what should I serve with it? Luckily I had also bought some chicken thighs that were on sale today. I was worried though, because while I love chicken thighs, J. had just made a comment about how tired he was of chicken. He was going to have to battle through.

He battled. In fact, he had two helpings. And I bet we fight over the leftover thigh that’s in the fridge for lunch tomorrow. These were amazing. As good, if not better than one of my whole roast chickens, without all the time and hassle. These will be making a regular rotation in our house.

Spice Roasted Chicken Thighs

Adapted from Elly Says Opa!

5 bone-in, skin-on chicken thighs
4 tsp chili powder
1 tsp cumin
1 tsp coriander
1 tsp ground pepper
1 tsp salt
1 tsp fresh thyme, rosemary, sage
1 Tbsp canola oil
Tbsp white wine

Preheat oven to 450. Pat chicken dry. Mix together herbs & spices. Rub all over chicken.

Heat oil in skillet over medium heat. Brown chicken on both sides, about 5 minutes each.

Transfer pan to oven and cook skin side up, until cooked thru, about 12-18 minutes.

Remove chicken and let rest. Place skillet on high heat. Deglaze pan with wine, scraping up browned bits, pour over chicken to serve.

**Note–This would be amazing next to those roasted mushrooms I made awhile back!

 

Leave a Reply

