Mauve Cabinets and a Bottle of Red

My two passions–Food and books

Asparagus and Cannellini Bean Salad June 9, 2010

Ever have one of those days when you feel completely uninspired? Yeah, that’s me, sitting here, trying to write this post. Normally I have a fun  story to go along with the recipe but I’m sorry, it’s been a crazy busy day and my brain says no to creativity apparently.

So instead, I’ll leave you with the recipe I promised. Please forgive my lameness.

This is the salad I served last night with the roast thighs. It was one I wanted to test for my sister, I thought it would make an easy, fulfilling meal that would give her some much-needed protein. It was great warm, and would be delicious cold as well. I think roasting the asparagus would give it more flavor, just sprinkle it with olive oil and salt and pop it in the oven, instead of boiling it.

Not exactly an easy dish to photograph.

Asparagus and Cannellini Bean Salad
Adapted from Endless Simmer

1 Bunch asparagus
1 can cannellini beans
3 cloves garlic, minced
1 Tbsp whole grain mustard
Olive Oil
White Wine Vinegar
Salt & Pepper
Fresh Herbs
Feta or Goat Cheese

Boil asparagus for 2 minutes in salted water. Shock in ice water, drain. Cut into small pieces.

Dump water out of pot. Put back on heat. Add oil and drop asparagus back in. Cook only a minute or two, so it doesn’t get soggy.  Add beans and garlic.

In bowl, mix mustard, oil, vinegar, salt, pepper & herbs. Mix in asparagus & beans, add cheese.

 

2 Responses to “Asparagus and Cannellini Bean Salad”

  1. MUST EAT THAT! Great recipe and what a gorgeous photo!!! I’ll be back for sure.


Leave a Reply

