Mauve Cabinets and a Bottle of Red

My two passions–Food and books

Summer Fruit Ice Cream June 15, 2010

It’s been an eventful couple of days here at the Wall household. Yesterday, a friend asked me to go with her to a nearby shelter to look at dogs. The no-kill shelter was way over capacity and my friend had heard a rumor that things were not looking good for the animals…if you know what I mean (thankfully, we found out this was not true when we got there).

She and her husband were looking to adopt a dog, so down we went to Hamilton County Humane Society. If you live in this area and are looking to adopt, check them out. It’s a great facility, they REALLY care about their animals there. Even though they had so many, they knew them by name, personality. We spent about 2 hours with them and the staff was very friendly and helpful. The pens were clean, the animals happy (or at least as happy as they can be locked in a pound). I have never seen a pound that nice before.

J and I had talked off and on about getting another cat to replace Keira. She and Smokey had finally got to be good friends when she left us, and Smokey has always had a companion. I hated that my girl was alone. Plus, Keira was so lively, and we missed having that personality around. So, when we went to visit the shelter yesterday, we went into the cattery. I wasn’t really looking to take anybody home, I just wanted to see what they had. J wanted a kitten, but I like them old enough to have developed a personality (because any cat person can tell you, they all have VERY different personalities).

I looked and smiled at the fuzzballs as we went through the pens, just enjoying the way the kitties showed off, saying “Pick me!” But then, in the very last pen was the funniest face I have ever seen. He was sitting there pouting at me. I knew right then he was one of my family, as we have a hereditary Pout that we laugh about. I looked over his information, and he likes other cats, he likes dogs, adapts well to new places. Good, good, good! I watched him in the cage for a while, and my heart melted. Then I got to take him into the visiting room, and he played with some toys, sat in my lap. We bonded :). I noticed he was very laid back, but friendly, and active. Perfect. Now all I had to do was convince my husband. I paid part of his adoption fee to hold him until today, so J could come down and meet him.

J was reluctant, but he agreed to come down this morning. He had the same reaction to his funny face. How can you resist? Then when we went into the visiting room, Patrick was MUCH more lively than he was yesterday. Running all over the place, showing off for J. He couldn’t say no. So we packed him up and brought him home.

I was worried, but the introductions went fairly smooth. Smokey growled and complained, but Patrick just laid down and chilled, he was completely relaxed. No big deal. We still have a long way to go before Smokey is cuddling up next to him but with his laid back attitude, she won’t be able to find a reason to be mad at him for long (except that because she’s in such a bad mood, he’s getting more attention right now). He was even unfazed by a 60 pound bounding ball of wagging mud pouncing at him and following him around. He just keeps coming in here and rubbing on me like, “Dude, this is SOOOO much better than that cage.”

My Funny Fellow

All three got new collars today, and their tags have been ordered. After Keira left and never came back, I don’t want that to happen again. I’m sure she’s living at the top of a tree somewhere eating squirrels, but I miss her. HCHS microchips all their animals, and because they will microchip your pet for $30, I’m seriously considering having the other two done too.

In the chaos of welcoming a new family member, I managed to make ice cream last night! This is some seriously awesome stuff. You can play around with the fruit, do whatever looks good to you. You can do all one if you don’t want to mix it up, but I had those blueberries leftover from my sister’s party (and still have more!), and some strawberries and a peach that were about to turn. Also, if you don’t want to add the creaminess, or you’re lactose intolerant, just make it a sorbet. Just make the fruit syrup (and add the strawberries to the blueberries when cooking), cool, then freeze that. It would be delicious, and I may do that with the rest of the blueberries once this is gone.

Summer Fruit Ice Cream
Adapted from MyRecipes.com

1 1/2 cup sugar
8 oz cream cheese, softened
4 large egg yolks
3 cups milk
1 cup half and half
3 cups blueberries
1 sprig rosemary
1 peach, diced
1/4 cup sugar
1/4 cup water
1 pint strawberries, diced & macerated in honey while other ingredients are cooling

Beat together 1 1/2 cups sugar, cream cheese, and yolks. In a heavy saucepan, combine milk & half and half, and bring to a boil. Remove from heat, and gradually add to cream cheese mixture, with beater on med.-high so not to scramble eggs. Return to pan. Cook over medium low until thermometer reaches 160 degrees, about 5 minutes. Place pan on ice, cool completely.

Combine blueberries, peach, rosemary, 1/4 cup sugar, and 1/4 cup water in saucepan. Bring to a boil, then reduce heat to simmer for 10 minutes. Stir often. Remove rosemary sprig and discard. Cool completely.

Stir blueberry mixture into milk mixture, add strawberries. Pour into ice cream machine and freeze per manufacturer’s instructions. Put in freezer-safe container and freeze until solid.

**Note–This made too much for my Kitchenaid attachment. Don’t overfill!

 

Leave a Reply

