Mauve Cabinets and a Bottle of Red

My two passions–Food and books

Sandcastles by Luanne Rice June 16, 2010

Filed under: Book — hmills96 @ 8:46 am
Tags: , , ,

After my run of mediocrity lately, I wanted to read something easy and entertaining. I pulled this paperback off myself, thinking it was a romance novel. It wasn’t, but that was fine. It was still a very quick read, and a page turner that I didn’t want to put down–I big change from late.

This book has a lot of emotional conflict in it, but most if it’s pretty predictable. I guessed right away what John’s internal battle was, as well as Regis’s (one and the same, really). It was easy to guess what the condition of the family would be at the end of the book.

There were a few things that were a bit beyond my state of reason though. Like a nun who had a secret love affair before going into the convent. Unlikely. And the middle daughter, Agnus, has a very serious relationship with a nurse she met while she was hospitalized. The unbelievable part? She’s 15. He’s 24. And her parents are thrilled. Now, my parents were pretty supportive, but if I had dated a 24-year-old when I was a 9th grader? No way. Grounded for life. At first I thought maybe I was mistaken in their ages but it repeats them later in the book, so no getting around it. 10 years is an acceptable gap when you’re in your adulthood. It’s HUGE when you’re a teenager.

Aside from that though, it’s a great read. Something I would recommend to my mother for poolside.

 

Leave a Reply

