Mauve Cabinets and a Bottle of Red

My two passions–Food and books

Susan’s Caesar Salad Dressing June 18, 2010

Filed under: Quick and Easy,Salad — hmills96 @ 8:22 pm
Tags: , ,

I. Am. EXHAUSTED! I started my new job yesterday! I really like it so far, but it is definitely challenging. There is so much new stuff to learn, I am doing something completely different from what I have done before. The biggest hurdle I am facing though is my frustration with myself. I had been at my old job for 3 years. I knew all the customers, I knew all the procedures and programs. I knew the answers to the questions, or if not, at least where to find the answers or who to go to. Now I’m flying blind. I’m having to start all over. I feel like I should be that top dog even when I know I’m just a baby. Luckily I have a very patient and understanding trainer.  I’ll get there, it will just take time and practice.

J has been running with an Army buddy of his who also lives here in town (their unit is an hour and a half away, and so are most of their cohorts). Since J had an early schedule today, they were going out this evening. I decided I would cook dinner for the two of them when they got back. While I was driving home, I thought about what I had in the pantry, and decided on Caesar salad, roasted asparagus, and shrimp scampi. The meal actually flowed really well, as all of the dishes contained a lot of the same ingredients, without tasting at all the same. They just meshed really well.

I’m going to start with the salad tonight. This is by far my favorite dressing to make. I discovered it two years ago, long before I had a blog. My good friend SGCC created this wonder, and while I decreased the garlic in it just a tad (seriously, 6-9 cloves? Even I, the garlic queen, thinks that’s a bit nuts), the recipe is pretty much hers. She even includes two whole tablespoons of my favorite ingredient, Worcestershire! Good Girl. Also, don’t let the anchovies in this scare you away. I had never had them in anything before this. I still have never had them in anything else. But this dressing is amazing, and I would never make it with out the fish.

Susan’s Caesar Salad Dressing

Adapted from Sticky, Gooey, Creamy, Chewy

2 egg yolks
4-6 cloves garlic, whole
2 Tbsp Worcester sauce
4-6 drops Tabasco sauce
1 can anchovies in olive oil
3 Tbsp red wine vinegar
2 Tbsp Dijon mustard
Salt & pepper
1 cup good EVOO
2 cups freshly grated Parmesan (none of that stuff out of the green can)

In a blender, pulse together everything except the oil and cheese until smooth. Slowly drizzle oil while blending (I use a funnel through the whole in the top of the lid. Be careful though, it can be messy.) until emulsified. Stir in cheese.

 

One Response to “Susan’s Caesar Salad Dressing”

  1. Susan @ SGCC Says:

    Congrats on the new job! Even though it may take a while to get into the swing of things, you’ll soon be an old pro. I’m glad to see you love this dressing as much as I do. It’s my favorite too. Not for the faint of heart, but oh, so good!


Leave a Reply

