Mauve Cabinets and a Bottle of Red

My two passions–Food and books

Baked Shrimp Scampi June 21, 2010

Filed under: Italian,pasta,shrimp,wine — hmills96 @ 8:11 pm
Tags: , , ,

Today was a completely different Monday from what I’m used to. I think I’m really going to like my job. Don’t get me wrong, it’s going to be stressful–there is a LOT of information to know all at once. Where to find what at a certain time on a certain call. 5-6 different software programs to navigate while trying to converse with a customer. It’s not going to be easy. But, as I’ve been saying all day, at least it’s not poop!

You know what I realized today? At 4:30, my day is over. Yes, I have an hour commute home, but I don’t have to spend that whole time on the phone trying to fix a work problem. Because of certain securities, it is actually AGAINST THE RULES for me to take work home! I won’t ever have to be on call at 3 in the morning during an ice storm. I not only get holidays off work, but I even get July 5 off because the 4th is a Sunday! It’s a big change, and hard to wrap my mind around sometimes. I loved my old job…some of most of the time. But I can have a life! It’s so nice.

Take this meal that I have been telling you about, for instance. I planned it on the way home, and fully executed the whole thing without having to worry about who was on call or what techs were still out. Would I have to talk to a customer when I was elbow deep in shrimp? NO! It’s just a job that fits my lifestyle so much better. Love it!

Now, on with the recipe I’ve been making you drool over anxiously! This was REALLY good stuff. I think next time I will leave out the panko, as it got soggy after a while. You might have a little more liquid than you need that way, but serve it over linguine and you should have an awesome wine sauce! Yum!

Baked Shrimp Scampi

From Milk & Honey

2 pounds shrimp, peeled and deveined
3 Tbsp EVOO
2 Tbsp dry white wine
Salt & Pepper
1 1/2 sticks butter, softened
4 cloves garlic, minced
1 small shallot, minced
handful fresh parsley & rosemary, chopped
1/4 tsp crushed red pepper
1 tsp lemon zest
Juice of half a lemon
1 large egg yolk
2/3 cup panko

Preheat oven to 425.

In large bowl, toss shrimp with olive oil, wine, salt, & pepper. Set aside at room temp. while you make butter/garlic mixture.

In a small bowl, mash butter with garlic, shallots, parsley, rosemary, red pepper, lemon zest & juice, egg yolk, panko, salt & pepper until combined.

Line 14 inch oval gratin dish with shrimp in a spiral pattern (or like me, realize halfway through, that although your shrimp were deveined, they were not peeled, so instead of redoing the spiral, toss shrimp haphazardly into the bowl). Pour remaining marinade over shrimp. Spread butter/garlic mixture evenly over shrimp.

Bake for 10-12 minutes until bubbling. If using panko, brown under broiler for 1 minute.

 

Leave a Reply

