Mauve Cabinets and a Bottle of Red

My two passions–Food and books

Trophy House by Anne Bernays June 26, 2010

Filed under: Book — hmills96 @ 11:31 am
Tags: , , ,

I am in a REALLY good mood right now. Albeit a little bit sweaty and tired. I just walked, yes WALKED, to our local library! I haven’t been in to register since we moved here, which is sad. But in my defense, I only recently discovered we HAD a library. I needed to go to the bank this morning, also within walking distance, and since the library was on the way back, I figured I’d check it out (*elbow elbow* get it? ha!). Unfortunately I missed registration for the summer reading program, but that’s ok. There’s always next year. And, for being a relatively small library, they have a really good selection of books. I didn’t have my list with me, but I saw a LOT of titles that I recognized, and picked up two that I’ve been wanting to read for awhile.

I finished Trophy House by Anne Bernays last night, and then immediately fell asleep at 8:30 on a Friday night. Lame. I was exhausted. And this book was boring. I don’t necessarily think that it was a completely bad book, I think it was just targeted to someone in a different age bracket (and no, I did not say OLD. No one would ever call Helen Mirren OLD, but she would be the age bracket I’m referring to). I’m getting carried away with my exercise endorphin giddiness, I apologize. It’s making me use too many parentheses.

Anyway, I just could not connect with the main characters. Dannie I felt was just kind of bland or out of touch. Honestly, I had to look up her name to write this because I couldn’t even remember it. Beth, PLEASE grow up. You’re in your 30s. You’re not a college kid anymore. Put something on other than slacks. Raymie, I just didn’t understand her at all. Normally, B&B owners are usually interesting people but she was just odd. Why out of nowhere she just quit owning a B&B and moved in with the obnoxiously rich guy and became a suburban housewife was beyond me. Speaking of the obnoxiously rich guy–you don’t just go from being an asshole with a poodle and a huge flashy house that you built to piss off the locals, to turning it into a Cape Cod inn and invite all the locals over to make them love you.

I just didn’t get it. The writing was good, but the characters…eh. They didn’t make sense to me.

I started a smutty romance novel about a sexy Native American this morning when my brain was still too tired to read anything else. As soon as I finish that I’ll move on to Virginia Woolf, who I am excited about reading again. I loved Mrs. Dalloway, I hope To the Lighthouse is just as good.

 

Leave a Reply

