Mauve Cabinets and a Bottle of Red

My two passions–Food and books

Alfredo sauce for Pasta June 29, 2010

Filed under: Herbs,Italian,pasta,Quick and Easy,sauce,Vegetarian — hmills96 @ 5:36 pm
Tags: , , ,

One of my favorite meals (in case you haven’t noticed already) to make is pasta. I can do ANYTHING with pasta. I always have a variety of types on hand, and my sauces will change depending on what I have in my fridge and pantry that night. You’ve seen my spaghetti sauce–that’s a regular. But last night I wanted something a little richer, and J had been craving Fettuccine Alfredo.

I didn’t use Fettuccine for this, but he did NOT mind at all. I had some of those Bertolli Ravoli in my freezer. I LOVE them. Gives a little more oomph to a meal, without a lot more work. Last night I used the Four Cheese ones, and they were awesome with this sauce.

Growing up, I think Alfredo was something we all ordered in Italian restaurants. It was familiar, and especially for picky eaters like my sister, didn’t have anything unrecognizeable. Unfortunately, it’s also usually tasteless, unless you are at a REALLY authentic Italian place (if you know if any in my area, let me know!). This recipe was fantastic. It was super easy to do, and while not so light on the diet, it was soooo flavorful. I used herbs from my garden for something extra, and since I ran out of Parmesan (*gasp!*) I substituted in half mozzerella, so it was really creamy and smooth. We will definitely be having this again.

I want to apologize to you guys for the lack of pictures lately (and the crappy cell phone pic above). It seems like by the time I get home and cook the meal, I’m just ready to sit down and eat it! I can never find my camera when the food is ready. Ha! I’ll try to do better, I promise.

Alfredo Sauce
Adapted from Pioneer Woman on Tasty Kitchen

1 stick butter
3 cloves garlic
Handful of fresh oregano & basil, chopped
1 cup heavy cream
2 cups freshly grated parmesan (or 1 each of Parm & Mozzerella)
Salt & Pepper to taste
Dash of Nutmeg

Heat skillet over medium heat. Add stick of butter and let melt.

Add garlic and herbs, cook for about 1 minute, just until soft and fragrant.

Whisk in cream, let come to boil, then turn heat to low.

Add in salt, pepper, & nutmeg.

Pour over your favorite pasta!

 

2 Responses to “Alfredo sauce for Pasta”

  1. You can also put in Mascarpone cheese, which makes it so incredibly rich that you’ll hardly be able to believe it. I usually do mascarpone and a few handfuls of mozz, and it’s perfect.

    Your dinner sounds yummy!

    • hwall1018 Says:

      Um…YUM!!! Next grocery trip I’m TOTALLY picking some up. I don’t usually have it on hand, it’s hard to find and expensive around these parts. But I might have to make a special exception.


Leave a Reply

