Mauve Cabinets and a Bottle of Red

My two passions–Food and books

The Last Lecture by Randy Pausch July 12, 2010

Filed under: Book — hmills96 @ 5:30 am
Tags: , ,

You know a book is good when I finish it in 4 hours. This was an extremely easy, quick ready (obviously), and I’d recommend it to anyone. I’m not usually an inspirational, nonfiction type of person–I just can’t get into something that doesn’t have a plot. But this one was extremely well written and I really enjoyed it.

This was not just another “Here’s my struggle with [Enter major illness here]. Poor me I’m going to die,” books. I thought it was going to be, and really had been dreading reading it, but since it was next in line on my shelf, I had to. I guess I could have skipped it but I decided to get it out-of-the-way. I’m so glad I did. Randy really didn’t like focusing on his cancer at all, he touched on it here and there, “introducing the elephant in the room” when it became unavoidable. But for the most part, his goal was to impart his wisdom to his children and his readers.

My favorite line in the book had to be, “You may think that you are interesting, but you are not more interesting than lunch.” I will be quoting that for a long time. The context is that if you want to have a short conversation with someone, call them at 11:55, right before their lunch hour. They will talk fast. You are not more interesting than lunch.

Read this. Give it to a graduate, a new bride or groom as a wedding present, anyone starting a new period of their lives. It’s definitely one worth picking up.

 

Leave a comment