Mauve Cabinets and a Bottle of Red

My two passions–Food and books

Linguine with Peppery Shrimp July 17, 2010

Filed under: garlic,Herbs,Italian,pasta,Quick and Easy — hmills96 @ 9:00 am
Tags: , ,

I haven’t cooked hardly at all this week–J. worked until 8 most nights, and with my new schedule I’m in bed by 9:30, so I fend for myself those nights. I did make brownies, but they were nothing special. Good, but not better than the recipe I already have posted here.

So, since J. was going to be home at 7, and it was a Friday night, I decided to cook dinner. This recipe was great because it was simple, and only has a few ingredients. It could have used more sauce, next time I think I’ll add more butter, maybe a little wine, but otherwise it was tasty. It really brought out the natural goodness of the shrimp.

Linguine with Peppery Shrimp
Adapted from Cooking Light, August 2010

2 lbs large shrimp, peeled & deveined
2-3 Tbsp lemon juice
1 Tbsp each fresh thyme, parsley, & oregano
2 cloves garlic
3 Tbsp butter
8 oz linguine

Toss shrimp with 1 tsp salt and 1 1/2 tsp freshly ground black pepper (this is not a recipe for the powdery stuff).

Boil water, add salt & pasta. Cook until al dente.

Heat a large nonstick skillet over medium- high heat with olive oil. Add shrimp, saute about 4 minutes or just until pink. Remove from pan and set aside.

To pan, add butter and let melt. Add herbs and garlic, cook for just a minute, until soft. Whisk in lemon juice and 2 Tbsp pasta water.

Toss pasta, shrimp, and sauce together. Serve with garlic bread.

 

Leave a Reply

