Mauve Cabinets and a Bottle of Red

My two passions–Food and books

Blueberry Noir Sorbet July 27, 2010

Filed under: Berries,dessert,Ice Cream,My Recipes,Spring/Summer,wine — hmills96 @ 5:42 am
Tags: , ,

I have been a very bad blogging lady lately. I guess I’ve just been all blogged out or something. It’s not for lack of material–I’ve read 3 books, and I’ve made Blueberry Sorbet and Teriyaki Steaks. I just haven’t felt like blogging anything.

I started a journal, and have been recording my many misadventures there, maybe that has something to do with it, I don’t know. Really though, I just haven’t been spending as much time on the computer lately (as evidenced by the overflow of items in my Google Reader). I think I just needed a break.

This weekend was HOT. REALLY HOT. We had a garage sale on Saturday, and then Sunday I decided to go for a walk. Exercising when it’s 90 degrees outside–not a good idea. So I decided to use the last of the graduation blueberries (can you believe they lasted this long??) and make something cold.

I would suggest straining the syrup and freezing this in an ice cream maker. But I was hot and lazy and didn’t want to lug out my mixer, so I just blended it with a boat motor and froze it granita style. It was still really good but the hand blender definitely changed the texture. Straining it will give you a much lighter sorbet.

Blueberry Noir Sorbet

Original Recipe

2 cups blueberries
1/4 cup sugar
1/4 cup water
1 sprig rosemary (optional)
1 cup Pino Noir

In a small saucepan over medium heat, combine all ingredients except the wine. Boil for 10 minutes. Remove from heat.

Strain out juice into a bowl. Stir in wine. Chill in fridge.

Freeze in ice cream mixer per manufacturer’s instructions. Will probably need to let this set up in freezer for another 30 minutes to an hour.

 

Leave a Reply

