Mauve Cabinets and a Bottle of Red

My two passions–Food and books

Sweet and Spicy Pork Chops July 28, 2010

Filed under: Asian,My Recipes,Pork,Quick and Easy,sauce — hmills96 @ 6:04 pm
Tags: , ,

We had a branch-wide quarterly meeting today. While most people generally don’t like those kinds of interruptions, I was glad for it. For someone new to the company, it was a way to put some names with the faces I see every day, and for this small business girl to really feel a sense of unity in such a large corporation. I was expecting something boring, lots of numbers that I wouldn’t understand. And there was some of that. But the main part of the meeting was to recognize birthdays, anniversaries, and those people who had been with the company for 1, 3, 5 or 10 years. It was a good way, I thought, to pump people up. At the end, PIZZA!!! Which is always OK in my book! My poor ham sandwich is still sitting in the fridge, waiting to be eaten.

That’s OK, I ended up getting my pork fix at the end of the day instead. If you like Chinese food, MAKE THIS NOW! This was just a sauce that I made up during the slow afternoon hours today at work, and it was soooooooo good.

For those of you country-folk who are thinking, “What in THE hell is Sriracha sauce?” don’t be scared of it. It’s just Chinese hot sauce, thicker than the stuff we use around here. You’ll find it in the international aisle. It’s a blazing red sauce, with a pointy green top.

Also, use any kind of jam or preserves you want for this. I had strawberry, but mango, peach, or pineapple would be good with this too. I wouldn’t use a dark berry, like blueberry or blackberry, but something light and tropical would work well.

The measurements below are just estimates. I only made two small pork chops, so I had a ton of sauce left over, which I did on purpose to keep in a jar for next time. But it would be a good amount for 4 or 5 chops.

Not a great picture unfortunately, bad lighting tonight.

Sweet and Spicy Pork Chops

Original Recipe

1-2 Tbsp Sriracha Sauce
1/4 cup honey
2 Tbsp soy sauce
1/2 jar fruit preserves
1/4 cup white wine
Boneless pork chops

In a small bowl, whisk together all ingredients except chops.

Heat oil in skillet over medium high heat. Dip chops in sauce, place in hot pan. Cook for 2-3 minutes on each side, brushing with more glaze while cooking.

While plating, pour hot glaze from pan over chops.

 

Leave a Reply

