Mauve Cabinets and a Bottle of Red

My two passions–Food and books

Bel Canto by Ann Patchett July 29, 2010

Filed under: Book — hmills96 @ 5:40 pm
Tags: , , ,

I’m a couple of books behind on my reviews, unfortunately. I try to post as soon as I finish a book, but as I mentioned in an earlier post, I needed a blogging break. One good thing about the journaling though, is that I’ve been writing my thoughts as I read, so I do have some notes on the books that I’ve missed.

The first thing that struck me about this book is that the chapters were marked with grand scales. Sometimes when I pick a book off my shelf I have no idea what its basis is, so I was very pleased to see that one of the themes was music. I even turned on my classical playlist to go along with it.

I loved this book. Here is what I wrote in my journal immediately after I turned the final page:

“What a wonderful–unique book! This was unlike anything I have ever read before. While it is a little unbelievable that a hostage situation would go on for so long, I’m so glad Patchett wrote it this way. The characters are so, so involved. Every detail is well thought out and makes sense. I hated the ending but it was exactly how it was supposed to be.”

Anybody else notice that is a common issue with me and endings? They usually don’t turn out how they want them to, but they are usually exactly right.

Anyway, go pick this one up. I couldn’t put it down once I started it. And don’t be afraid to turn on a little opera while you read.

“If a human soul should dream of me, may he still remember me on awakening!”–Rusalka

 

Leave a Reply

