Mauve Cabinets and a Bottle of Red

My two passions–Food and books

Th3rteen R3asons Why by Jay Asher July 31, 2010

Filed under: Book — hmills96 @ 12:23 pm
Tags: , , , , ,

I was uneasy about this book. While all I tend to be interested in all things psychological, suicide is a subject I steer very far away from. I was not sure exactly what emotions this book was going to produce–probably a lot of anger, sadness–I was just not expecting a pleasant experience. But it was in the stack of books my sister gave me to read, so I gave it a go.

It was a good read, albeit definitely emotional! It walked you through the signs of suicide, and made a point that it’s not just one thing that makes a person kill themselves. It’s a constant building of little blocks until the wall just can’t support its own weight any more. Little things like a list of the 10 best butts–we had one of those in middle school, I even remember who made number one. It was a heartbreaking read. You want to save her. But she’s dead. You know it from the very beginning. You can’t save her. So you move on to the next tape, to find out why.

 

Leave a Reply

