Mauve Cabinets and a Bottle of Red

My two passions–Food and books

Crockpot Beef Stroganoff August 2, 2010

Filed under: Beef,comfort food,crockpot,Fall/Winter,Mushrooms — hmills96 @ 5:56 pm
Tags: , ,

Thank you for being a friieeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeend….

Can I just say that I LOVE the Golden Girls? Thank goodness for Netflix. I have them dispersed through my queue so that it’s like a lovely surprise. It’s great to just sit and relax and laugh along with the girls. Jordan and I like to make fun of the outfits and repeat the endless one-liners.

There’s nothing better than the Golden Girls and comfort food. I put this meal in the crockpot before I left for work this morning. While messing with onions and raw meat at 6:30 am turned my stomach a little bit, it was sooooooo worth it when I got home.

I did have an oops with this one. I went to add the 1 1/2 cups sour cream at the end, and discovered we didn’t have any! So instead I added a block of cream cheese. It was amazing. I’ll be making it that way again!

Hey look I actually took a halfway decent picture!

Crockpot Beef Stroganoff
Adapted from Hillbilly Housewife

1 lb stew meat
1/2 cup flour
2 tsp salt
1/8 tsp pepper
2 medium onions, sliced into rings
1 lb mushrooms, sliced
2 cubes beef bullion
8 oz water
2 oz red wine
1 brick cream cheese
1/4 cup flour
Hot cooked egg noodles

Combine meat with 1/2 flour, salt & pepper in crockpot until it’s coated completely. Stir in onions and mushrooms. Add bullion, water and red wine. Cover and cook on low for 8-10 hours.

Before serving, stir in cream cheese and 1/4 cup flour.

Serve over egg noodles.

 

Leave a Reply

