Mauve Cabinets and a Bottle of Red

My two passions–Food and books

Lemon Chicken August 4, 2010

Filed under: Chicken,wine — hmills96 @ 5:38 pm
Tags: , ,

My sister was always the accident prone one in the family. Until she was four, she had a permanent knot bruise on her already huge forehead. (Sorry K, big foreheads run in the family. I have one too.) Later on, she fell off balance beams, sidewalks, her own feet.

Why do I tell you this? Because I have that klutz gene too. In the kitchen. If you look at my hands all you see are scars. Every week, there’s a new one. Seems like one for every meal I’ve cooked. I have a big burn on my right hand between my thumb and wrist where I caught it on an oven rack taking brownies or cookies out of the oven at my parents house. Always wear a full oven mitt. This will be important later. Last year, I almost sliced the tip of my left thumb off cutting onions. On my right ring finger I have a new burn scar that’s just healing from Sunday night’s dinner (which is actually the recipe I’m about to share), where I caught my hand accidentally on a hot muffin pan.

There are more scars, most I don’t remember how I got them. Most are burns of one kind or another. You would think, I would learn how to be safe in a kitchen, after so many accidents. But nooooooooo.

Tonight, I poured a little wine in my pan to deglaze it, then grabbed the metal handle to shake the liquid around. See where this is going? Yeah…that pan had just been in a 400 degree oven for 20 minutes. Remember that oven mitt I told you to wear? I wasn’t wearing it. So now, I’m typing with one and a half hands, praying that my right hand (you know, the one I do EVERYTHING with) does not blister.

Learn from my mistakes, my friends. Don’t grab and shake a scalding hot pan. It really hurts.

But, also learn from my successes. Make this chicken! The flavor was amazing. Ours came out a little dry and overcooked though, so I’ve lowered the temperature and adjusted the timing to what I normally roast my chicken thighs at on the recipe below. But trust me, the skin on this chicken, oh my goodness, was the crispiest chicken skin I’ve ever had. Yum!

Lemon Chicken
Adapted from Simply Recipes

4 chicken thighs, with skin
1/3 cup lemon juice
2 cloves garlic, crushed
Handful each of fresh thyme, rosemary, and sage (or about 1 tsp dried of each)
1 tsp salt
1 tsp black pepper
3 Tbsp melted butter

In a gallon sized Ziploc, mix together lemon juice, garlic, herbs, salt & pepper. With the tip of a sharp knife, cut into each chicken piece a few times about 1/2 inch. Place chicken in the bag and shake to cover. Marinate in fridge for 2 hours.

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.

Over medium high heat, melt butter in oven proof skillet. Add chicken, skin side down.  Cook for 2-3 minutes, until skin is starting to brown.

Flip chicken over. Put pan in oven and cook for 20-25 minutes until internal temperature is 160 and juices run clear.

Let rest for a few minutes before serving. I would recommend making a simple pan sauce at this point by deglazing the pan with white wine and lemon juice and letting simmer for a minute. Pour over chicken. This is optional, but delicious.

 

Leave a Reply

