Mauve Cabinets and a Bottle of Red

My two passions–Food and books

Sauteed Carrots with Sage August 5, 2010

Filed under: Herbs,Quick and Easy,Side Dish,Vegetarian — hmills96 @ 5:00 pm
Tags: , , ,

I LOVE cooked carrots. I keep boxes of the frozen steam bags in my freezer, for nights when its me and I don’t want to cook. I’ll just pop a bag in the microwave, throw on some salt and butter and enjoy. Unfortunately they don’t seem to be helping my eye sight much. Sigh. I think it’s time for new glasses.

My husband used to tell me that he didn’t like cooked carrots. I have changed that. He used to say that about mushrooms too and now he devours them whenever I fix them. I must be doing something right!

Anyway, this recipe was quick and simple to throw together while the Lemon Chicken was finishing up in the oven. I stuck with Cooking Light’s recommendation for sage because I have a TON of it, but use whatever fragrant fresh herb you have available. Dill would be fun with this.

Sautéed Carrots with Sage
Adapted from Cooking Light, November 2009

1 tsp butter
1 tsp olive oil
4 big carrots, sliced on the bias
2 Tbsp water
Dash Salt & Pepper
Handful of fresh sage, chopped

Melt butter in nonstick pan over medium heat. Add oil, swirl to mix. Add carrot and water. Partially cover pan and cook for 10 minutes or until tender. Add salt, pepper, and herbs. Sauté for just a minute until sage is soft.

 

Leave a Reply

