Mauve Cabinets and a Bottle of Red

My two passions–Food and books

Spiced Glazed Catfish August 10, 2010

Filed under: Asian,Fish,Quick and Easy — hmills96 @ 7:06 pm
Tags: , , , ,

This summer has been HOT. I think I say this every summer, but it seems like it is hotter than last year. I was not built for Indiana summer. Give me fall and winter any day. I’m fair-skinned and I burn easily, and since I got sun poisoning at the beginning of the summer this year, my heat sensitivity has dropped to nil.

So when J and I found ourselves suffocating at his unit’s annual family picnic Sunday, I knew we had to find somewhere to cool off. We called Canoe Country and headed out to float down the river in inner tubes for the afternoon. I would recommend this to anyone with a free afternoon! It was only $20 for the two of us for four hours, which was really probably too long in a tube. I would recommend the 2.5 hour trip. Save the longer trips for canoes and kayaks, which also looked like lots of fun on a day when we are feeling more active. The prices are not much higher either. The river felt so good!

Oh, and I didn’t get sunburned because I have a new floppy straw hat to protect me! Isn’t it the greatest?

I debated on posting this recipe. It was good, but not great. I think the problem was the spices I used. The original recipe calls for Chinese five-spice, but I didn’t have any, so I tried to make up a blend of “orientalish” spices. However, my spice cabinet is made up of mostly Italian based herbs and spices so that was not easy. There was too much curry powder in this mix. But the concept of this recipe is a good one, play around with the spice mix you use. If you can find an Asian based mix, or five-spice, definitely use that. In the end, I decided to post it because I finally took a really great picture! Is that sad?

Spiced Glazed Catfish
Adapted from Noble Pig

2 catfish filets
1 tsp nutmeg
1 tsp allspice
1 tsp clove
1 tsp red curry powder
1 tsp garlic powder
1/8 ground pepper
1/4 cup soy sauce
3 Tbsp brown sugar
Half a bell pepper, cut into bite sized pieces

Sprinkle both sides of filets with spice mix. Combine soy sauce and brown sugar in a small bowl.

Heat oil in skillet over medium-high heat. Add fish and peppers and cook about 2 minutes. Reduce heat to medium, turn fish over and pour sauce over fish. Bring to boil and cook until fish is cooked through.

Serve fish with peppers and sauce.

 

Leave a Reply

