Mauve Cabinets and a Bottle of Red

My two passions–Food and books

Homemade Ramen August 29, 2010

Filed under: Asian,Chicken,garlic,Mushrooms,pasta,Quick and Easy,soup — hmills96 @ 7:11 pm
Tags: , , , , ,

I’m trying to get back into my cooking mojo. I went to the grocery store this weekend and bought a ton of great ingredients (and actually stayed within budget somehow). I’ve got some great recipes to test out. I even butchered a chicken myself yesterday, just to get into the spirit. But more on that tomorrow.

I’ve been eating a LOT of chicken ramen lately. As I told you in my last post, I really have not felt like cooking at all. I went home two weekends ago and my sister kind of got me hooked on ramen. She is really picky, and has stomach issues that don’t allow her to eat many things on top of that. She has this favorite flavor of ramen, Creamy Chicken, that for a long time, was discontinued. While I was home, she found it in the store and bought an entire case of it. She was heading off to college that weekend, and while she was nervous about her first time living away from home, she said it would be ok now because she had her food. Well after a full weekend of talking about ramen, I had to pick some up myself. And because I haven’t felt like cooking, it’s pretty much all I’ve been eating. Which means I’m more bloated than day old roadkill. Ugh.

Because of this, when I was thinking about my grocery list, I knew I had to include Food Mob‘s Ramen. I’ve talked about Food Mob on here before, when I made chili. I love their show, I watch it religiously every week. A few weeks ago Niall made homemade ramen. With fresh veggies. And real tuna! It looked sooooooooo good. I knew I had to make it soon.

J has started a new job, which means a lot more money for him. However, it’s 4 am-3:30 pm 3 days a week (Saturday, Sunday, Monday). It’s a crazy schedule, and he just started yesterday, so he is wiped out. However, I was REALLY looking forward to cooking this ramen tonight. So I was pretty bummed when he said he just wanted a snack and bed. After sitting here for about 15 minutes, I decided by golly I’ll make it for myself! It made a ton, which means I have plenty of food for lunch this week. But at least it’s a lot healthier for me than the packaged stuff! And a LOT more delicious.

Instead of the tuna, I used chicken, and it was great. This will definitely be a go to meal from now on. It took only about 20 minutes from start to finish, including cooking the chicken. A tip on that–butterfly your chicken breast so it is thinner. It will cook much faster that way.

Homemade Ramen
Adapted from Food Mob

1 large chicken breast, butterflied
1 chili pepper, the long red skinny kind if you can find it (I used a habanero because I had it, but it was a little intense)
1 red onion, sliced
1 pint mushrooms, roughly chopped
2 Tbsp fresh ginger, minced
2 cloves garlic, minced
2 cups chicken stock
2 Tbsp soy sauce
Splash of Sesame Oil
Splash of Rice wine vinegar
Splash of lime juice
1 package straight to wok noodles (or just plain ramen, no seasoning)
3 cups Chinese cabbage (it was called celery cabbage in my store)
1 cup sugar snap peas, cut on the bias

Preheat oven to 500. Preheat a skillet with oil. Also preheat a large pot with oil.

Salt and pepper both sides of chicken.  Place in pan. Saute for 2-3 minutes on both sides (I chopped my veggies while waiting on the saute). Move to oven.

While chicken is cooking, toss onions, peppers, and garlic into the hot pot. Saute for 1 minute. Add mushrooms and ginger. Let cook for another minute.

Add chicken stock, soy sauce, sesame oil, and vinegar. Add noodles, stir to break up. Add cabbage and sugar snaps. Let this boil while chicken is cooking, about 15 minutes, stirring occasionally.

When cooked through, remove chicken from oven. Slice into bite sized chunks. Add to soup. Let cook for 1 minute to soak up juices, serve hot.

**Note–this is not going to taste anything like the packaged stuff, so don’t expect it to. It is so much better than that, savory, spicy, and so full of healthy veggies. Seriously, go make this. Only don’t use a habenero. Trust me on that. PS–Fig Newtons are really good at calming the burn.

**Note #2–Go watch the video of Niall making this. Yum!

 

One Response to “Homemade Ramen”

  1. […] Homemade Ramen « Mauve Cabinets and a Bottle of Red […]


Leave a Reply

