Mauve Cabinets and a Bottle of Red

My two passions–Food and books

Hoisin Glazed Chicken August 30, 2010

Filed under: Asian,Chicken — hmills96 @ 6:02 pm
Tags: , ,

I mentioned in my post yesterday that I butchered a chicken. This is one of those culinary tasks that seems so advanced, but it’s really something that every serious cook should know how to do. I love buying whole chickens, but I always roast them, and THEN divide the servings. How much more difficult could it be to cut it up before cooking?

But, I hadn’t tried it until now. Again, my inspiration for this move came from a Food Mob video. These videos really are great for learning techniques. I watched this video a few times (flip to the end), and then went to town on my chicken. It was a piece of cake. It’s going to be hard to justify buying an expensive package of tasteless breasts when I can spend $5 on a roaster and get so much more meat, not to mention more flavor.

Roast chicken with Spicy Hoisin Glaze
Adapted from Serious Eats

2 chicken thighs and 2 drumsticks, skin on
1/2 cup hoisin sauce
1 tsp ginger, minced
4 garlic cloves, minced
1/2 tsp crushed red pepper
1/2 tsp sesame oil
1 Tbsp soy sauce
1 Tbsp rice vinegar

Preheat oven to 500. On medium-high heat, preheat a skillet with oil.

Place chicken, skin side down, in pan. Sear, 2-3 minutes, on both sides. While cooking, in a bowl, whisk together hoisin, ginger, garlic, red pepper, sesame oil, soy sauce, and rice vinegar.

Place chicken in baking dish. Put in oven for 10 minutes. Remove pan from oven, pour sauce over chicken. Put chicken back in oven for 10-15 minutes, until cooked through.

 

Leave a Reply

