Mauve Cabinets and a Bottle of Red

My two passions–Food and books

Udon Noodle Soup September 25, 2010

Oh my GOD you guys. The soup I am eating right now. I couldn’t even wait until I finished eating to write about it. My bowl sits in front of me, half finished. I pause every few sentences to slurp down another noodle. Make this recipe. Lunch, dinner. Hell, I had made it at 10 am in the morning.

Yes, I made Udon soup for breakfast. I have been seriously craving Asian food in the mornings lately. I don’t know if it’s watching Anthony Bourdain gulp down bowls of Pho in the early hours or reading of the savory broths Asian cultures often serve for the first meal, but cereal has lost it’s appeal. Unfortunately, in Indiana, it’s not so easy to find hot and sour soup at 7 am.

I’m not alone either. The Kitchn just featured an article this week about having Miso soup for breakfast. When I read that yesterday, I knew I could resist no longer. So this morning, when I woke up with that craving, I had to create something. Luckily, I had made homemade ramen a few weeks ago, so I still had some (albeit, a little frozen from being stuck in the back of my crisper) Chinese cabbage and ginger. I also had some Udon noodles! I EVEN had one more container of my homemade chicken stock, just waiting for soup from scratch.

Guys, this is seriously good. My version may not be the most traditional. It should be made with dashi stock, and I’d love to have some mushrooms and eggs (of which I was unfortunately out). But, this may have been the best breakfast I’ve ever had. And anyone who knows me knows that I do NOT eat breakfast. I will be doing this again. I might make it ahead of time to keep in the fridge.

Oh, and if you would rather eat a strawberry poptart every morning with a Diet Coke (hehe, you know who you are. I love you.), all the power to you. But make this for lunch at least.

Udon Noodle Soup
Adapted from The Kitchn

2-3 cups chicken stock
1-2 tsp cinnamon
1 tsp diced ginger
1 package udon noodles
1 cup bok choy or Chinese cabbage
1 small shallot, diced
1/2 Tbsp garlic powder
3 Tbsp soy sauce
1 tsp Sriracha sauce, optional

In medium pot, simmer stock. Add cinnamon and ginger and simmer for 1 minute.

Add noodles and cabbage, cook for 2 minutes.

Add rest of ingredients, cook for 2 more minutes. Serve hot.

**Note–If you want to add an egg or two, add to stock just before it comes to a simmer, cook for two minutes before adding noodles and cabbage. Be gentle when adding the other ingredients so you do not break the eggs.

 

Leave a Reply

