Mauve Cabinets and a Bottle of Red

My two passions–Food and books

Wild Rice and Mushroom Soup with Chicken October 3, 2010

If you follow me on Facebook or Twitter, well, you’re probably thinking, OK HALEY ENOUGH ALREADY!!!

You also know that I’ve been SUPER productive this weekend. I’ve been in a cleaning frenzy. Operation Take Back My House. The mess had literally taken over and it had gotten to the point where I had just given up. I started cleaning yesterday around 9 and did not stop until about 4 pm today. I still have a little bit to do before my mom will be allowed in the house, but the MAJOR stuff is done, the hard stuff.

While I was working on the kitchen yesterday, I also decided that I would make a pot of stock. My stash had run out and I was using the boxed stuff, so a batch was way overdue. (I also made a jar of homemade BBQ sauce, but that really has nothing to do with this post, other than it was one more thing that I did haha!)

I had planned on making a huge pot of chili to freeze in smaller batches. Since I’m only feeding myself now, most nights I don’t feel like cooking a huge meal. I want to have easy meals on hand so I can just make something quick. But, since I had a bunch of fresh stock, I changed my plan and made a pot of this soup instead. It was good, but a little bland. Next time I’ll add more than just thyme, and maybe some Worcestershire.

Wild Rice and Mushroom Soup with Chicken
Adapted From Cooking Light October 2010

4 cups chicken broth
1 package quick-cooking wild rice
1 Tbsp olive oil
1/2 cup onion, chopped
1/2 cup red bell pepper, chopped
1/3 cup carrots, matchstick-cut
2 cloves garlic, minced
1/2 tsp dried thyme
1 Tbsp butter
2 packages shiitake mushrooms
2 cups shredded rotisserie chicken breast
Salt & Pepper to taste

Boil 1 1/3 cup broth in medium sauce pan. Add rice. Cover, reduce heat and simmer 5 minutes or until liquid is absorbed. Set aside.

Heat oil in Dutch oven over med high heat. Add onion, bell pepper, carrots, garlic, and thyme; saute 3 minutes. Stir in butter and mushrooms, saute 3 more minutes.

Add remaining broth, rice, chicken, salt and pepper. Cook 3 minutes more.

 

Leave a Reply

