Mauve Cabinets and a Bottle of Red

My two passions–Food and books

Butter Braised Leeks December 4, 2010

Filed under: Side Dish — hmills96 @ 10:03 pm

It’s been a really long time since I felt like cooking. I have had no inspiration, no desire. It was awful. I haven’t really spent any time in my kitchen for months, except to microwave some Lean Cuisine or something. The most difficult thing I had cooked was microwaved acorn squash!

But then I made the turkey for Thanksgiving. And it turned out beautifully. I was in Mom’s kitchen from 6:30 am to 2 pm. Then this week I made that roasted pepper pasta. I knew my cooking streak was back when I spent the whole drive home coming up with that recipe. It’s been a long time since I’ve done that.

When I woke up this morning, I knew I wanted to roast a chicken. But that’s a LOT of food for one person. So I called one of my best girlfriends and told her to come over for dinner. The menu was sooooooo good:  Thomas Keller’s Roasted Chicken, roasted mushrooms, and leeks braised in butter. OMG seriously these leeks. You have to try them. Eat them on their own with a fork, or do what we did and spread the sweet melty goodness over french bread.

These leeks are to die for. They have a very mild onion flavor, and the butter makes a sauce that just…wow…no words. They just melt over your tongue. We couldn’t get enough. Definitely not the lightest dish, but I will definitely make these again.

Butter Braised Leeks
From Caviar & Codfish

4 leeks
1 stick butter
Water
Kosher Salt
Pepper

To prepare the leeks:  Cut off the root and the leaves. Peel off the first layer of the stem and discard. Slice the leeks into thin coins. Place leeks in a big bowl of water, stir around with your fingers, and let everything settle for 20 minutes or so. (Leeks are notoriously sandy, you have to rinse them thoroughly.) Rinse leeks under cold running water just before using.

In a skillet, melt 4 Tbsp butter over medium heat. Add leeks to pan and add water until leeks are almost covered. Cover pan and cook for 10-12 minutes until tender.

Remove lid and boil until water is almost gone. Season (carefully, as leeks have a very delicate flavor) with salt and pepper. Add rest of butter. Simmer for another minute or two, until sauce is thickened.

Serve as a side dish or spread all over French Bread. mmmmmmmmmmmmmmm seriously this is so good.

 

Leave a Reply

