Mauve Cabinets and a Bottle of Red

My two passions–Food and books

Thomas Keller’s Roast Chicken December 6, 2010

Filed under: Chicken,comfort food,Leftovers — hmills96 @ 8:18 pm

If I’ve said it once, I’ve said it a hundred times:  I LOVE ROAST CHICKEN! You’ll never find a juicier way to eat poultry than roasting the whole bird. And the skin. OOOOOOOOOOH the skin.

Anytime I find a new roast chicken recipe, I have to pull it. I liked the look of Thomas Keller’s because it was so simple. This recipe was made to bring out the flavor of the chicken. No frills. It’s a great recipe to use if this is your first time doing a whole chicken.

Unfortunately, the chicken I got was not that great. It was small, and just not the best quality. Plus, I had bought it before Thanksgiving, and realized I wasn’t going to have time to cook it, so I had to freeze it. There just was not as much flavor in it as there should of been. I’ll probably try this recipe again but I’ll go back to buying the chicken I usually get.

Thomas Keller’s Simple Roast Chicken
Adapted from Sticky, Gooey, Chewy, Creamy

Whole chicken
Kosher salt and fresh ground pepper
2 sprigs of thyme, minced
Butter

Preheat oven to 450.

Rinse the chicken, then dry it really well with paper towels, inside and out. Salt and pepper the cavity, and if needed, truss the bird (some already come tied). Make sure to tuck the wings underneath.

Salt the whole chicken, making sure to get a uniform coating. Sprinkle with pepper.

Place the chicken in your roasting pan. Do not baste the chicken while it’s cooking. Just leave it alone for about 1 hour, then add the thyme. Continue roasting until the thickest part of the thigh reaches 165.

Just before carving, slather the meat with butter. This part’s optional, but it was a good idea for my low quality bird. You can also turn the pan drippings into gravy!

*****If you have a lot of leftovers, like I did, don’t throw them out! I chopped them up into bite-sized “cubes” and stored them in freezer bags (1 cup in each bag). I now have 3 cups of frozen chicken for the next time I want to make buffalo chicken dip (or chicken soup or chicken salad or whatever YOU do with already cooked chicken)!

 

Leave a Reply

