Mauve Cabinets and a Bottle of Red

My two passions–Food and books

Lemon Oregano Chicken February 28, 2011

Filed under: Chicken,Fall/Winter,Lemon,My Recipes,Quick and Easy,Spring/Summer — hmills96 @ 7:38 pm

The weather around here has been pretty crazy lately. I’m not sure what Indiana did to Mother Nature but she is TICKED OFF and is not afraid to show it. I don’t remember a winter this cold or this snowy. Normally, I’m a huge winter fan. Bring on the snow. The problem is, this year I have an hour commute. That makes a really big difference in my winter attitude. There were two days, a few weeks ago where I missed two days of work because of the massive ice storm that hit our area. Then Friday, we got hit hard again. We had enough snow that I couldn’t get up the hill to get out of my neighborhood until noon! I did end up going to work once everything started to melt off, but I was pretty frustrated.

Then last night brought a BOOMING first storm of the season. I don’t know that I’ve ever heard thunder that loud! It poured and poured, from about 9pm to 4am. The ground was already saturated from the snow meltoff, so everything is flooded around here. There were a few funnels, maybe a touch down in the area as well.

Because of last night’s storm, I didn’t get much sleep. I’m a storm fanatic so not only did thunder keep me awake, but so did the adrenaline from studying the storm cells racing across the state. I was up from about 2-3:30! That didn’t make for an easy Monday let me tell you! We were swamped, and one of my teammates is on vacation until tomorrow so things were pretty crazy.

By the time my day was over, I was definitely ready for something delicious. My food budget has been tight so I haven’t been cooking much. But I had some chicken thighs, and a lemon that I needed to use. This recipe came from my head, just a way of using up what I had on hand. You’ll probably recognize the technique, it’s really just a variation of something I do all the time. But the combination of flavors came out fantastic! I threw in some Brussels sprouts and a little butter before I stuck the pan in the oven, and the flavors all caramelized together. It was a really good combination.

Lemon Oregano Chicken

Original Recipe

1 chicken thigh, skin on
1 lemon
1 tsp oregano
Salt & Pepper

Preheat your skillet over Med-High heat with a little olive oil. Preheat oven to 450.

When hot, place chicken skin side down in pan. Brown for about 5 minutes, then flip over and do the same to the other side.

Put pan in oven for 15-20 minutes, until chicken is cooked through. Serve with roasted veggies.

 

Leave a Reply

