Mauve Cabinets and a Bottle of Red

My two passions–Food and books

Oreo Brownies March 17, 2011

Filed under: Brownies,Chocolate,Parties — hmills96 @ 10:02 am

This was actually the first recipe I did after the donation jar got started. I had a long going on that first week, and was going to wait until the next week to get started, after I had time to go to the store. But I had a special request, from my boss’s boss, who was visiting from Florida. She had heard about my cooking and wanted me to make something before she headed back. I had chocolate and Oreos. No problem, I’ll make brownies!!! Always a winner.

These are by far the best brownies I’ve ever had. Even before I added the cookies, the brownie base is incredible. I’ll use this recipe again, whenever I want fudgy, incredibly rich brownies.

Oreo Brownies
Adapted from Baking Bites

1 cup butter
6 oz chocolate, chopped (I used Ghiradelli 60%)
3 cups sugar
1/2 tsp salt
2 tsp vanilla
4 large eggs
1 2/3 cups all purpose flour
1/3 cup cocoa powder
1 package Oreo cookies, smashed

Preheat oven to 350. Line 9×13 pan with aluminum foil and grease with Pam.

Melt butter and chocolate over medium heat. Whisk in sugar, salt and vanilla.

Remove pan from heat, whisk in eggs one at a time.

Stir in flour and cocoa powder. Pour half of the batter in the pan, add a layer of Oreos, than pour the rest of the batter over the cookies. Bake for 35 minutes.

Cool for about 20 minutes, than lift brownies out of pan and slice.

Oh man do I want one of these right now!

 

One Response to “Oreo Brownies”

  1. […] in the cupboard from when we unpacked. These were amazing. It’s the same brownie base from my Oreo Brownies, with a graham cracker crust and toasted marshmallows on […]


Leave a Reply

