Mauve Cabinets and a Bottle of Red

My two passions–Food and books

Chai Snickerdoodles March 21, 2011

Filed under: cookies,Family — hmills96 @ 10:27 am

At any family gathering, there are two things that have to be on the menu:  Rice Krispy Treats and Snickerdoodles. My uncle LOVES my mom’s Snickerdoodle cookies. I never cared for them much–but I think that was mostly because I always went for the ones with chocolate in them. But in the past few years, my chocolate cravings have reduced, and I’m finding that I want more spice. Now I’d rather pick up a Snickerdoodle than anything else!

When I saw this recipe, I immediately thought of my uncle. And who’s fooling…myself. Even better, they are CHAI Snickerdoodles. One of the downsides of not “using” caffeine, is that I cannot have Chai anymore. Man I love that stuff. But the black tea it’s made with is almost always caffeinated. Sigh…

The cream cheese in these cookies give them a moist, but crumbly texture. Don’t turn your nose up if you don’t like cream cheese, you can’t really taste it, but it definitely makes these cookies extraordinary. I also like that the spice mix is a little more complicated than the usual Snickerdoodle mix. These take a little time to make, because of the chilling time–and let’s be honest, they are a little messy too. But it’s all worth it when you take that first warm bite. My coworkers will be heaven tomorrow.

Chai Snickerdoodles
Adapted from Sugar Plum Blog

2 Tbsp sugar
1 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp ground ginger
1/4 tsp ground cloves
2 cups all-purpose flour (I ran out of AP, so I did 75% AP and 25% bread flour)
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp salt
1/4 cup butter
1/2 cup cream cheese (1/2 a brick)
2 tsp honey
2/3 cup sugar
1 tsp vanilla
1 egg

In a small bowl, mix together 2 Tbsp sugar and spices. Set aside.

In another bowl, mix flour, baking soda and salt.

In your mixer, cream butter, cream cheese, 2/3 cup sugar, honey, and vanilla until creamy. Beat in egg until combined. Slowly add flour on low speed until mixed.

Chill dough about 20 minutes.

Roll dough into 1 inch balls. Roll balls in spice mixture. Place on cookie sheet and flatten slightly with your fingers.

Bake at 350 for 9-10 minutes or until puffed and golden.

 

Leave a Reply

